Deena Remiel's Place

Author of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance


6 Comments

While I’m still away…

Here’s another riotous post involving my kids. This time, I’d written about how my husband and I grossed them out. We still take much pleasure in doing so…

Ew… Mom.Dad. Get a room!

Posted on March 11, 2011 

My husband and I have been married for nearly eighteen years. We dated four years prior to our wedding. Now, we have two daughters -  14 and 11 years of age. Needless to say, we’ve kissed a couple of times.  Go figure! Lately, our kids, the proof that we’ve uh… kissed, have been quite vociferous about our PDA.

Now let me get something perfectly clear. Hubby and I hold hands wherever we go. When either of us leaves for work or gets home from the day, we kiss. Nothing major, you know, a few pecks on the lips. But the kids act as though they’re scarred for life!  Words like, “ew” and “gross” spill from their mouths. Youngest covers her eyes whenever she sees kissing on TV or in a movie, too. Eldest is the hypocrite.  She’ll watch movies that have men and women kissing in them and she’s perfectly fine with that. But when Mom and Dad do it… The two of them yell out, “Ew! Mom. Dad. Get a room!”

Luckily, we haven’t been caught making love yet.  I don’t  even want to think of what could happen. Maybe their brains would implode? On the one hand, we think it’s hysterical, and any chance we get to exploit their embarrassment, we do. We’ve been known to egg them on with more kissing and hugging. On the other hand, they need to get a grip! They are both old enough to have had Sex Ed in school. They know how babies are made, hence, where they came from. So what’s so bad about a little kissing between parents?

So are you like us? Do you have kids that say, “Ew! Gross! Get a room!”

Hugs,
Deena

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,063 other followers