Just breathe!

Okay, the state of affairs with education right now in Arizona is frightening! I just slipped through getting my walking papers yesterday, but the concern is far from over. Our numbers are dwindling and unless we register a certain amount of students, my job could very well be in jeopardy, yet again.

So each morning I wake up, I have to say to myself, “Just breathe!” The chips will fall where they may and I have no control over that. I can control how each day goes in my classroom, how well my students learn, and how much I contribute to my school community at large.

I love the people I work with. They have such tender souls. I love my administration. They have empowered me from the beginning, and let me feel complete as an educator of all, not just kids. I love our kids. So many of them are so needy, and I find that my coffers are never empty, thanks by the grace of God, I suppose. If these were to be taken from me, I would go on, I would find another place to fit in, but it would never be like what I have now.

 So, when I woke up this morning, the first thing swimming through head, as usual, was my latest novel. The second thought was of keeping my job. And then I thought… just breathe!

Leave a Reply

