Tom Petty’s Got Nothin’ On Me…

I love music, a lot. So much so that when I was younger, I actually would sit at the kitchen table, rocking back and forth to  song after song that could only be heard in my head. I know, you’re thinking, this girl needs lots of therapy. But, growing up, music served to soothe my spirit, allowed me to connect with others on an even plane, and offered me an outlet for my own burgeoning writing career.

Music still is a huge part of my life. In fact, there are songs throughout my history that I consider my “theme” songs. Thank God for my theme songs! There are even songs today that I WISH I had as my theme songs back when I was a teenager.

So, where am I going with this? I’ll tell you. I  have a few songs that I can’t live without, and one song that is my theme song  right now. I can’t live without Calling All Angels and Hey, Soul Sister, both by Train. The first song speaks my own desires, the second makes me so happy I have to bounce every time I hear it. But my theme song these days is: The Waiting, by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

I think you can see where I’m going with this. The waiting is the hardest part! I am pretty patient in my life. I’ve had to wait  a while for certain things to happen, like finding love and  having children. I’m still waiting for things like financial security (ha ha), a home I don’t have to fix up (ha ha again), and freedom to travel.

And waiting is okay,really,  because it’s not like I’ve been sitting on my butt, I’ve been very proactive about everything in my life. But there’s only so much a person can control.

So now, I’m waiting, for my chance to show the world I belong in the world of published authors. That I’m not doing this writing thing just to be able to say to  people, “Yeah, I have a book that’s published.” Hell no! This is the path I’ve chosen to take for the rest of my life. This is all I want to do for the rest of my life. I’ve put things in place to make it all happen. And I’m ready for everything that comes along with it.

Now, I just have to wait. But the waiting is the hardest part…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    Hate waiting.

    I had to smile to myself as I thought of the number of times I visit this site simply to listen to the music.

    Each step forward is another step closer.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Glad I’m not alone! I think I’ll add more music, too, when it makes sense with the posting. Are you stepping forward, too? I hope so…

Leave a Reply

