Mom! There’s nothing to eat!

Okay, never, and I mean NEVER take your kids food shopping just before dinner! I come home from work today to the resounding harmonies of my two daughters voices, “Mom! There’s nothing to eat!” Never mind the fact that the cupboards are full. It’s just not full of what THEY want.Youngest thought she would be so helpful and made a list for me. Sweet! Then I asked her to tell me what she wrote.

Are you ready? Crackers, cookies, ice cream, popsicles, corn puffs, Flamin’ Hot Cheetos, sugary cereal. Oh yeah, deli. Nice to know she had all the food groups represented. Sweet, salty, and spicy.

In an after work haze, guess what  I do? I actually take her and the list with me to the market, and add a roasted chicken for good measure. Don’t you know I bought everything on that damn list! But I was real good, honest. So many foods were calling out to me, “Buy me! I’m delicious! I’d look great on your belly and thighs!”  I resisted them all though, and only bought the crap on the list.

Okay, I revise my initial statement. Never, and I mean NEVER go food shopping, alone or with children, before dinner! I wound up with a belly ache just unpacking the bags!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    I’d be howling if I weren’t worried about the roomies noticing. I have no children, but that inner child causes the same kind of problems. Rules: Eat for shopping; make the list well in advance; and then stick to the list. It works, most of the time. Donuts are on sale this week; I may have to add it to the list, so I at least stick to the list. 😉

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Are the donuts chocolate covered? Because that would just make my night complete!

  2. Judy says:

    I chose a Bismarck, which is pastry cream filled and topped with chocolate. Fry’s had other choices, but that’s my fave. I am exercising a little restraint by saving it for after lunch. Not easy.

  3. I feel the same way about ice cream. Really! if I don’t buy enough for myself PLUS my Mom and sister, they’ll finish up theirs and then finish MINE. And my Mom exclaims “But you don’t eat it up FAST enough!” Oh, gimme a break! There’s nothing that suits me better than to find my leftover ice cream on a Sunday morn so I can finish it off. No such luck…they ate the rest around 2am. Must be the hormones, LOL!

    Hi, Deena! Your blog has poetry, humor, etc. and deserved to join my ‘Links’ list. Welcome aboard! Next time please check out ‘Lagunatic’ and ‘Pinknotes’. Both ladies look at the Funny side of life.

    Cheers from Ralph!

Leave a Reply

