A Poem In Loving Memory of Dad

I wrote this poem a couple of years ago around my father’s birthday. To honor his memory, I am posting it here today, on his birthday. It can always be found under Poetry, on the left sidebar.

Long Enough 

how long has it been
I can’t remember
long enough

 that your smile has faded slightly from my memory
that your voice is a distant echo of another time
that your touch only soothes the child’s heart of long ago

how long has it been
I can remember
long enough

for my tears to have cried, and dried up, and poured out again
for my heart to have hurt, and healed, and hurt again
for my hands to have reached out for yours to hold, and found none

 how long has it been
I must remember
long enough 

to miss saying,  “Dad”

© Deena Remiel, 2010.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m very moved by your sad poem. My father passed away 25 years ago. But I still miss him.

    He never got to met his grandchildren. The grandson my sister gave him or the granddaughter I gave him.

    I still remember his smile though, and the dimple that went with it.

    Janice~

    1. deenaremiel says:

      It’s been five years for me. He did get to meet his grandkids, but not for very long. My favorite picture of the two of us is up on a wall in our home. Five or 25, when people we love leave us, there is a void. On the positive side, I feel his spirit with me everyday. We were blessed while we had them, right!

Leave a Reply

