All packed up and nowhere to go…

I need a life! My kids are more traveled now than I’ve ever been. They have wonderful friends whose parents allow them to go on trips with them. You’d think they would stow me away in their luggage  so I could have fun, too. But alas, no. I get to stay home rather than camp out in Payson, or relax on a beach in Mexico, or travel the Pacific northwest.

I’m not bitter, really. I’m thrilled my kids are having opportunities such as these because I know they don’t take them for granted. I know these trips will enhance their lives in ways enumerable. I would just like to have some of these opportunities, too. All right!  Don’t even start with me. I should have some cheese with my whine. Yeah, yeah. I  can see those tiny violins playing the world’s saddest song, “My Heart Bleeds for You” and in stereo, too. I get it.

In all truth, coming out to Arizona was my big dream, so I can’t complain. I’m living my dream. I was just expecting it to include a bit more financial freedom so I could explore. Damned economic downturn! Ironically, when we first visited the area, we saw more sites in that one week than we have in the three years we’ve lived here. That’s just crazy, if you ask me. Oh you didn’t ask? You’re still rooting for the kids, aren’t you?

My desires aren’t all that extravagant, though. Not enough to fill a bucket list. Maybe just a little pail. I’d like to see the Grand Canyon, visit Sedona and all that goes with it, see all the various ruins, tour the Biosphere, go to the Space Center, see the meteor crater. I want to be a tourist in the state I now call home.

And then, when I’m all done with that, I want to visit… the world! Whoa! The pail just keeled over.

Share

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    LOL!! I’ve never seen the biosphere, except for in passing, or been to Tombstone, or the meteor crater. I’ve lived here all my life. I’ll not mention where I have been. Even with all the travel I’ve done, I’ve still a lengthy bucket list, not including the places I’d like to visit again. So much to do, so little time…

  2. deenaremiel says:

    I’ll have to get some recommendations from you regarding travel destinations! 🙂

  3. Sounds like a good list of things to do and visit.

    Janice~

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Now, we just have to get there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

