A Rear in Time… Just Gets Fat

I’m weak. I admit it. I’ve got  some issues with getting my rear in gear on certain matters. Well, one matter in particular. GETTING FIT! I am amazing at setting a goal, I’m awesome at believing I can do it. But, dear Lord, my follow-through is, well, in one word, non-existent!

I don’t know what’s wrong with me! I have set goals and achieved them in all other aspects of my life, professionally and personally. But eating healthier and exercising are the bane of my existence! How can I abandon my dear potato chip?

Oh, I know! I could blame poor eating habits on the kids! Perfect! Except for the fact that they’re not itty-bitties anymore, only eating chicken nuggets and french fries. But this excuse could still work! They don’t like eating veggies and fruit. How, I ask you, can I even attempt to eat healthy when half of the family isn’t along for the ride? There, got one! Mind you, they do eat interesting food: sushi, mexican, crabs, lobster. Yeah, all the expensive stuff! Shoot me now!

Okay, as for exercising, my girls are athletes, so they make really good role-models. SO, what’s my problem  there?  I’ll face up. I’m so intimidated by their athletic prowess, I’m embarrassed to even get started. I know they’ll laugh at me if I put my Core Rhythms DVD in the machine to workout in the family room. I’d actually prefer to exercise in the dark!  What a wimp, a loser!

So the biggest problem I’m facing is finding what will actually motivate me to get off my ass and JUST DO IT. What will motivate me? Hmmm… maybe selling my books and an impending book-signing and appearance could spur me onward to a healthier-looking me? Just sayin’…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    There is no magic pill, no switch to flip, and no easy button, no matter what Staples says. What’s more, it isn’t even always about will power or self control. And what works for one person won’t work for someone else. If the answer were easy, you could sell it and retire, tomorrow. 😀

Leave a Reply

