Every Day I Fight a War

I just read a quote  ( The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt. ~Sylvia Plath) posted on Facebook by  a dear friend. It spurred me to write this poem today. We all have our inner battles, but if we stand together and support one another, they can be won.

 

Every Day I Fight A War

 

Every day I fight a war against my enemy, Self-Doubt
My weapon of choice
The claymore of words
Used to slash and burn its killing fields
My shield
My army of friends and family
Providing a near-impenetrable wall

 My victories are many
Yet self-doubt lingers on
Its crops, too many to annihilate completely
Its cells regenerating, dividing at too great a speed
An invading virus with no real cure
Only symptomatic band-aids

 It’s a war of words I wage, today
My sentries stand vigilant against the onslaught
Of vicious barbs and cruel taunts
I stand noble and strong
Hurling perspective and optimism
In the face of my toxic foe

Today, I wear a tentative smile
For I have won
But tomorrow looms on the horizon
Another chance for self-doubt
To worm its way into my fortress
I shall stand ready at the ramparts
 With my sword and shield
And my grace

 

©Deena Remiel, 2010.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    Hear! Hear! That touches the heart.

Leave a Reply

