Don’t Forget to Tip Your Travel God!

How many of you have gone on vacation and it went off without a hitch? I can honestly say that perfect family vacations have eluded us for years now. I can count on my one hand the vacations that were fabulous and fun, where no one got hurt or sick during the entire time we were away. This vacation will not be counted among of them.

It was an easy ride up to Sedona, with blues skies above and barely any traffic to get in our way. Good tunes were flowing and no bathroom breaks were needed. I couldn’t wait to show the kids the beauty of  the mountains. We found our motel easily enough and  began settling in when… “Mom, my head hurts,”  was spoken by Youngest. Which was quickly followed by Hubby saying, “Stop  jumping on the bed, then.” Followed up some more by me with, “Let’s get something to eat. You’re probably hungry.”

Across the way were a lot of restaurants. Perfect. Eldest wanted a calzone. I always can go for pizza. Who can go wrong with Italian? WE CAN! The food was terrible! What italian restaurant doesn’t have caesar dressing or put ricotta in their calzone? Youngest got worse and worse, but still ate. We returned and Youngest lied down. She felt like she was going to… you-know-what, but couldn’t.

All sorts of things swirled through my head at this point. Maybe she got West Nile Virus! She got bitten four times the other day by mosquitoes. Those bites were huge! No wait, she’s probably having a hard time adjusting to the elevation. We’re in high country now. Or maybe she gave herself whiplash from jumping on the bed. (Mind you, this is my State Champion gymnast here.) If she’s still sick tomorrow, when we reserved a jeep tour, then I’ll just take Eldest. It’s too late to cancel. Then we’ll go straight home.

After going to the nearest supermarket to get Tylenol and Maalox, we gave some to her. Finally, after a couple of anxious hours, she relieved herself of  the contents of her stomach, and came out of the bathroom with a smile. She said she felt SO much better! Wouldn’t you know, we went out a little while later? She had soup and was just fine.  

What happened? I have no clue. But the rest of our little vacation turned out just fine. TJ, of Red Rock Jeep Tours,  was the most awesome tour guide ever along Soldier’s Pass.  Yee haw!The kids squealed and shrieked while Hubby and I laughed our asses off. FAVORITE LINE: Hold your own arm! Said by Youngest to Eldest at the back of the jeep.

 I don’t know why most of our vacations are wrought with illness and bad luck. I’m just glad that we didn’t have to turn around and go home, like we did  one Thanksgiving.  So how many of you  out there have had similar experiences? How many of you forgot to pray to the Travel Gods like we obviously did? Tell me about it. Misery loves company, you know.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth says:

    No misery story, all though we had plenty of miserable vacation trips. Tip I learned from Judy. Vinegar on mosquito bites keeps them from swelling up. Usually, if I get bit, I get welts the size of half dollar coins, put on a little vinegar as soon as possible after being bit and no swelling. I keep vinegar in my medicine cabinet. Unfortunately, it does not prevent Nile virus. Glad to hear you had a great time on the jeep tour.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I will definitely give vinegar a try! Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  2. Judy says:

    Hmmm… I feel better after I lose my cookies if it’s one of my severe migraines. Last trip to L.A., felt awful, knew why, couldn’t do anything about it, not catching. Blessedly, my friends catered to me, and it turned out to be a lovely weekend, simply didn’t do a lot of things we’d planned on doing. That’s what going back is for. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      You can count on us going back to Sedona, or at least I will be! 🙂

  3. Poor baby, maybe she was car sick?

    I know my daughter gets sick from car rides and tosses her cookies too.

    We use rubbing alcohol on mosquito bites.

    Beautiful country. Your photos are quite lovely.

    Janice~

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Could have been, Janice, could have been. I’ll try the rubbing alcohol on mosquito bites, too, and see which works better, that or vinegar. Thank you for the lovely compliment about my photos. I’m a closet photography lover. Well, guess I’m out now! lol

Leave a Reply

