Tequila not required… this time

I know that many of you have read  a previous post of mine, A Bathtub Filled With Tequila. If you  haven’t, you’ll want to. Trust me! I have since given up the dream of having precious moments shopping with my two girls together. I just went school shopping with the girls the other day. It was lovely. Separately! Solo! One on one! Quality time spent with each of them, in a calm, happy environment. No arguments, no frustration. It worked. Both were very successful at spending my money.

I refuse to see this as a failure of my parenting skills. Each daughter is so diametrically opposed to the other, that they define night and day. It really is for the best that I spend time with each of them alone. I get to know the best sides of them. Having seen them fight like cats and dogs,  it gives me the opportunity to forget all that and like them again for their better qualities.

Tequila not required this time around!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    I imagine the girls LOVED being the center of attention. I think it was a brilliant decision on your part, very loving, and very tuned into the fact that children need to be seen as an individual. Go you!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Youngest is always craving alone-time with Momma, and as for Eldest, we can be like we were before Youngest entered our lives, something she wishes for on a regular basis. lol When I’m alone with each, we have a fabulous time together, no lie! They’re just great kids, and I’m truly blessed, not cursed. 🙂

  2. Ruth says:

    I have 3 girls that I called night, day and in between. Shopping one-on-one is a brilliant and happy solution. I found out more about each one and they have since related back to me that doing this made a difference for them. Well done.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Well done, Ruth! I think as mothers, we are just in tune to finding what works for our families, what keeps us connected to our children, and if something isn’t working, we try something new until we achieve peace and harmony. 🙂

  3. Amber Scott Project says:

    Oh, that is so sweet! Having that one on one time with you will be memorable for them even when their grown and still spending your money. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oh yes, they’ll never stop doing that, will they? Well, hopefully they’ll make enough money when they’re adults to reciprocate every now and then. I could ask for a COACH bag, an iphone, trips, and more for my birthday. LOL 🙂

Leave a Reply

