Wednesday Witticisms: Willy Wonka’isms

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory is one of my all-time favorite movies. You know, the one with Gene Wilder. Roald Dahl, the author of the novel, was brilliant at exploiting the horrible side of human nature, but also showed us the goodness that can be found in all of us.  Today, I thought I would present you with quotes from the famous movie. Each one could spark a conversation. So why don’t you try that today? Pick one or more and invite others to engage in a mid-week chat.

Enjoy!

1. “So much time, so little to do! … Scratch that, reverse it.”

2. I’m sorry, but all questions *must* be submitted in writing.

3. Invention, my dear friends, is 93% perspiration, 6% electricity, 4% evaporation, and 2% butterscotch ripple.

4. Of course you don’t know. You don’t know because only I know. If you knew and I didn’t know, then you’d be teaching me instead of me teaching you – and for a student to be teaching his teacher is presumptuous and rude. Do I make myself clear?

5. There is no life I know to compare with pure imagination. Living there, you’ll be free if you truly wish to be.

6. The suspense is terrible… I hope it’ll last.

7. Everybody has had one and one is enough for anybody.

8. Candy is dandy, but liquor is quicker.

9. Time is a precious thing. Never waste it.

I’ll pick #6. There’s nothing to compare to the exhilaration I feel when I’m anticipating something happening. Heart pounding, breath shallow and quick. It hurts so much yet feels so good at the same time. It’s sometimes even better than when the actual event finally occurs. What do you think?

Happy Wednesday!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth says:

    I think you live it. I have to wait three weeks to find out what Phoebe looks like. I also think #4 would be fun to use with a few students I have encountered. I actually like both Willy Wonkas for different reasons. I don’t view them as the same movie other than a few similarities. Thanks for the fun.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I do indeed live it, Ruth! You’re so funny! But now the pressure’s on. What if my description of Phoebe doesn’t live up to the anticipated version in your mind?

      1. Ruth says:

        It will be OK. I am curious how you will see her and what personality you think she has to create the bond that brings a man running. Looking forward to the next installment.

  2. Judy says:

    To start a conversation, I’d want to choose #3 because butterscotch ripple would be delicious. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I think that after all that hard work that you put into something, you should be rewarded with something so sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

