9/11, I Will Never Forget

  

 

National Park Service 9-11 World Trade Center ...

  

No matter where I am, no matter what I’m doing, as September begins I know what’s around the corner… a day that, for me,  will live in infamy, 9/11. There are not many days that go by where I don’t think about that fateful day and those that immediately followed. My friends lost family, my family lost friends. And the country rallied together in the largest show of support I’ve ever seen.

I have gathered for you here a collection of videos of the tribute that was aired live on television soon after the terrorist attacks and from the concert for New York. There are certain events in history we should never forget, nor should we forget the emotion associated with them. These songs elicit strong emotions within me. They haunt me, yet they heal me. 

 

First is Enrique Eglesias singing, I Could Be Your Hero. Why is he first? Because it was the first time I’d heard it, and it’s what finally brought me to shed the tears I’d been holding back for the sake of my children. EglasiasThe first is a video with Enrique 

   

 

  

 

Another song that stuck with me is Imagine, sung by Neil Young. 

 

Bruce Springsteen tugs at the heartstrings with My City of Ruin. 

 

The Who came through for us with the Concert for New York. I chose to share Won’t Be Fooled Again. ‘Cause we won’t! 

 

Paul McCartney wrote this next song specifically for this tragedy, Freedom. 

 

 

 

  

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary Lou Dominguez says:

    Loved it all…words and music…Thanks Deena.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks for visiting today. You are a dear woman. 🙂

  2. Judy says:

    I will remember.

  3. Ruth says:

    Thank you for sharing. Thank you for caring. Thank you for crying.

  4. Deena Remiel says:

    Thank you for being here with me.

Leave a Reply

