It’s BANNED books week! See who made the cut…

I’m reading Martian Chronicles with my Advanced kids, where Ray Bradbury begins to allude to censorship and freedom of speech in his chapter called, UsherII. He fully expounds on that idea in Fahrenheit 451. Firemen don’t put out fires in this story, they set them. On books. Ironic how THAT book used to be banned! In honor of BANNED BOOKS WEEK, I’ve presented you with the almighty list of books that have been banned at one point in time in our history.   Thanks to the Maricopa County Library District in Arizona for compiling this list of books and other media! See which of your favorites made the BANNED list at one time. Then read or listen to all the rest! There’s not a bad banana in the bunch!

Kids

The Stupids Die
The Stupids Die
by Harry Allard

And Tango Makes Three
And Tango Makes Three
by Justin Richardson


Teens


Adult Fiction


Adult Nonfiction

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth says:

    Yup the Bible has a lot of violence and radical ideas. (need a sarcasm font.) Reality is I do love the Bible. A few of those I have read and not liked but I defend the right for them to write it.

  2. Judy says:

    Wow. I’ve read quite a few of those, and chosen not to read some of them. I remember being completely baffled that San Francisco had banned Mary Poppins because the chimney sweeps had black faces. *blink* Are there books I think are a waste of paper and ink? Yes, I do, but I don’t have to buy them or read them. I’ve thrown away books that I’ve bought and found offensive (trying a new author, who then goes on my No List). I’m a reasonably capable, reasonably intelligent, reasonably responsible person, so I think I’m reasonably able to make decisions for myself. Oh wait, I’m expecting reasonableness. Silly me.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Insert sarcasm here: Maybe we should ban the Constitution and its Bill of Rights, for allowing us the freedom to express ourselves.

      Bookstores and libraries are supermarkets of thought. When I go to a supermarket, I am not required to buy every item it contains. Just as I am not required to read every book in a library or bookstore. However, school districts have the onerous task of accepting or denying a book’s right to be included in grade level curriculum. But even THAT is not as exclusionary as BANNING books for public consumption.

      The Constitution gives me the right to express my thoughts and protects my right to hear it and read it. As you said, Judy, I also have the right to decide NOT to read it. I am human. I have the ability to think and decide. Go figure! 🙂

  3. freshnewsonline says:

    Very true! Really like to read such books, i start with these one – bestsellers for 2010, i found them here. I am very new in this Genere but i am really excited!

  4. Genelle says:

    Don’t forget our old friend Mr. Joyce, with both Ulysses and Finnegans’ Wake banned.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Hi Genelle! Thanks for adding to the list. Let us rejoice by reading James Joyce!

Leave a Reply

