A New Year’s Reflection… by Deena Remiel

“Mirror, mirror on the wall, who is the most surprised of them all?”

In other words, who would have thought at this time last year that I would be standing, armed with two completed and contracted novels,  on the precipice of an amazing new career? I haven’t taken the time, until now, to really reflect on my journey. When looking back, my head reels. In a good way, of course.

Those who have been with me from the beginning, those of you who read my first postings about my plans, about my life, about the things that matter to me most, you have been the fortunate ones, on the inside track, seeing “ME” metamorphosize. And I’m still changing, getting comfortable in my new skin, my new “surroundings”. Looking in the mirror, I find it all suits me well. Funny how I didn’t FEEL the changes happening, though. I just plodded day by day, writing feverishly, doing what I thought I should, reading what I thought I should read, and making big pie-in-the-sky plans. Didn’t call them goals. That would have been way too scary, and too…real. At the time, my plans were considered dreams, and each and every day, I did something to move a little closer to those dreams. And I’m not done yet.

Friends, thank you all for being there and holding my hand and letting me know that I really do have something REAL, something of value to share. Thank you for validating my existence every day and enjoying my writing. I know some enjoy my humorous postings about life, others enjoy my poetry, and still others that enjoy my fantasy and fiction writing. I’m glad I can articulate my thoughts in a variety of ways. It’s fun, exciting, challenging, and keeps me fresh.

As I look into the mirror now, I find I’m not alone. Surrounding me is my loving family and then my dear friends.  I reflect on a tremendous year, a year filled with uncertainties and emotional anguish, a year saddled with economic turmoil and yet my family is surviving. It has also been a year of individual triumphs for all of us. And as I  peer into the mirror once again, I find all of us, together, heading into this next year filled with hope renewed, strength restored, and a determined mindset to continue turning our dreams into realities.

May this new year see us all healthy, joyful, content, and prosperous! Happy New Year!

Hugs and snugs,
Deena

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth says:

    Congratulations and I love your writing. Your poetry is an inspiration, your humor is delightful and I love your angels getting the bad guys. You added pleasure to my year. Thank you.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Meeting you and collaborating on projects has brought me such joy and contentment. You are so gifted, and I count myself among the blessed who now know you. Much love, Deena!

  2. Deena, I look forward to reading your posts. I enjoy the positive tone of each and every one of them. I’m glad I joined the Decadent Publishing crew. I hope 2011 brings you continued success in your career as a writer. Love, peace and happiness to you and your family.

    Kathleen

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Kathleen,
      Thank you for being such a wonderful supporter! Becoming friends with you has been a great joy for me. Decadent Publishing has brought such wonderful people from such varied backgrounds, and yet we have found connections that bind us together. 🙂 I wish much success for you as we both barrel ahead into the new year! E-books and print… here we come! LOL

  3. Judy says:

    Happy New Year! I’m so excited for you!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you so much, Judy! And you have certainly been here from the beginning. I thank you for your enthusiastic support always! Much love to you!

Leave a Reply

