Moving Day:Remembering to Breathe

Moving day is quickly approaching and I couldn’t be happier. It’s been a long struggle to make what my husband and I thought would be a better life for our family. We’ve been stuck in a three-year nightmare ever since the economic downturn swept us up and away. But now, there truly is a light at the end of the tunnel. I can breathe again. Paring down, scaling back, refocusing our energies in different ways will make for a much more serene life filled with more opportunities for all of us.

I remember an earlier post I wrote that shared a fortune I thought worthy of keeping. I can truly say that through all of this financial mess and emotional turmoil, I always  made sure to “act as though it were impossible to fail”. Acting got me through the darkest hours and now I can feel the rewards slowly making their way to my doorstep.

I must say, too, my children have been wonderful throughout all of this. God bless them, when we talked openly and honestly with them, they didn’t blame, they didn’t become resentful. And they had every right to. We took them from the friends and neighbors we all loved and the only home they’d ever known. But no, they understood , stopped asking for things, and became even more grateful for what they got.

So the next time I officially post here, it will be from my new office in my new rented home. I will have a huge grin on my face and serenity in my heart. But for now, with moving day a day away, and more packing than I ever want to do ever again, I am far from serene. I’m a swirling mass of chaos! Calgon… take me away! 😉

Hugs and snugs,
Deena

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Good with the move, Deena — here’s to a brand new start of better times to come, for all of you xxxx Hope the move is smooth sailing! Don’t forget to pack the coffee pot n coffee last so it’s the first thing you unpack when you get to the new house 🙂 Or the Champers!!!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much JoAnne! Gonna pick up a box of Joe (Box of coffee) tomorrow morning. LOL

  2. JM says:

    Ah, Girl, You’re doing good. Be patient and breathe deeply, and it will all be over soon. Years ago when hubby got the job in Kentucky, we had to pack up and sort through a 5000 square foot house. We were moving into a SINGLE WIDE in the hills of Kentucky. Goodwill was so happy to see me coming, every day. Four years later, we are in the new house and able to spread out again, but I will remember that moving year as HELL. It will all get better.
    You’re kids sound great by the way. They are resilient, and this will make them better people.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Holy schmoly, Jm! We’re going from 2600 to 1440. But it’s a two story so it feels a little bigger. I’m banning all clutter from this point on!! LOL MY kids are great BTW. They are definitely stronger for this. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing this with us, Deena. You are one of the few people I know who looks at everything with excitement — good, bad, or indifferent. You and hubby are doing what is necessary by putting your family’s best interest first and foremost. You’re a huge success on so many levels, I applaud you!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you so much, Carolyn! Sending a huge hug to you right now!

  4. Deena, Your positive energy will carry you, and your family through this. I hate moving, especially with all the little extra things that you need to take care of. It certainly is one of life’s top stress producers. I’m glad you have such wonderful children. I’m not surprised, considering how great their mom is. Take a deep breath, and get rest.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      OK< deep breath right now… ahhh! Taking a short break to regroup. Then, it's off to reassert myself on the GARBAGE! LOL Thanks so much, Kathleen! Love you bunches!

  5. Judy says:

    Rethinking and adjusting priorities takes strength and courage. Good for you! Praying your move is relatively smooth and pain free. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks Judy! Right now, my muscles are going to get a good soaking in the shower. Oooh! Not as young as I used to be… damn it! lol

Leave a Reply

