Oh, the horror!

I love romance, no doubt about it. That first glance, the first kiss, the first spark. Then, the complications, the misunderstandings, the seemingly insurmountable odds. Finally, lovers are reunited at last and forever.  So what’s the problem? I must have a problem. The title of this post speaks of horror.

Actually, paranormal romances get me up close and personal with some pretty bad resident evil dudes. I get to sit inside their heads and channel their thoughts to the page. After doing so, I have come to a disturbing realization. I think I just might have a horror tale inside me! Why do I think so? Well, I have worked through my denial and accepted the fact that I really enjoy speaking for the RE (resident evil) dudes!

I’ve noticed that my personality changes when I’m writing evil scenes. I sit here and let evil, wicked thoughts percolate and when they finally come out… whoa! I scare myself a bit, and actually feel bad for my hero and heroine at points. I attribute a lot of those horrific ideas from years of watching B horror movies.

What kind of horror story would I write? Would I follow prescribed formula or not? Would it be straight blood and guts or more psychological  horror? I haven’t a clue. Only in the thinking stage. But it’s great to know that my second novel, Relic, has badass evil dudes that make me cringe. My third novel will have major evil dude presence as well.  

Hey! Just had a thought! Maybe I could start a new sub-genre… horror-romance! lol

Hugs and snugs,
Deena

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth says:

    If it is made into a movie, Blood and Guts get better graphics. Just saying. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I will take that under advisement, Ruth. 😉

  2. Judy says:

    Something to consider: Stephen King was asked if he’d ever written a story that scared him, to which he replied (essentially), “Only once. I keep it hidden in the back of a bottom drawer to remind myself to never write anything that scary again.”

    1. deenaremiel says:

      If Stephen King is saying that, it must have been scarier than Hell itself. That man is a genius!

  3. Horror-romance is something to think about. I watched all the B movies, too. Loved them. Now, I’m intrigued!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Ooh, good! We have so much in common, Kathleen,a nd to find that we both watched all the B horror movies… well, that’s awesome! As for horror-romance, yes, it’s percolatin’ in here! 😉

Leave a Reply

