Ready… set… go!

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.” It may not truly be a secret, but getting started is the hardest thing for many of us to do. We must take pause and ponder why. What is it about starting anything that compels us to stop before we actually even take that first step? Say it out loud with me: FEAR!

Fear creates all kinds of insidious roadblocks meant to derail our success. We may have gone as far as writing down steps to reach our goals, but fear can destroy those steps at any point. So let me ask, how many of you have projects that you’ve been meaning to start but haven’t? Why not?  How many of you talk about your goals but haven’t done anything lately to further them? Why not?

In many cases you may have had tangible reasons, but at the root of most of those tangible reasons lies fear. Now, don’t get all huffy with me. Think about it a second. When those tangible roadblocks prevented you from starting a project or moving forward, reflect back and see if you didn’t let out the tiniest sigh of relief, too. Hey, I’ve been there many a time myself. That is, until I looked those roadblocks in the face and saw them for what they were. I acknowledged that there were two elements of fear threatening to hold me back from beginning projects and moving forward with others.

Fear of the unknown and  fear of success. What the heck am I getting myself into? How is my life going to change? What if it’s not all I hoped it would be? What if I am successful? Can I handle it? Can my family and friends handle it? Can I continue to live up to the expectations of my readers, my publishers, myself? Yeah, I’ve been there, folks. But what if we changed the questions, huh? How about this: How will I feel if I don’t act on my desires and dreams? How will I feel seeing my peers starting projects while I’m still talking about doing so? 

The key to ending all of this angst is TO START! And if you’re good at starting things, then when a stall is threatening to invade your life, make each day a NEW START. Make each step a new step. Work in terms of smaller chunks and celebrate smaller successes.

So let’s hold hands and stick our toes in the water. Just our toes. Ahh. See, not so bad, huh? Okay, now let’s go a little further, our ankles, our knees. Let’s not stop until we are all the way in! Ready? Set. Go!

Hugs and snugs,
                                               Deena

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Once you get over the fear of the unknown, your life can begin. I’m with you, Deena! Thanks for the inspiration.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Exactly! You’re so welcome! 😀

  2. Judy says:

    I like that flip question: What will happen if I don’t?

Leave a Reply

