Ew… Mom.Dad. Get a room!

My husband and I have been married for nearly eighteen years. We dated four years prior to our wedding. Now, we have two daughters –  14 and 11 years of age. Needless to say, we’ve kissed a couple of times.  Go figure! Lately, our kids, the proof that we’ve uh… kissed, have been quite vociferous about our PDA.

Now let me get something perfectly clear. Hubby and I hold hands wherever we go. When either of us leaves for work or gets home from the day, we kiss. Nothing major, you know, a few pecks on the lips. But the kids act as though they’re scarred for life!  Words like, “ew” and “gross” spill from their mouths. Youngest covers her eyes whenever she sees kissing on TV or in a movie, too. Eldest is the hypocrite.  She’ll watch movies that have men and women kissing in them and she’s perfectly fine with that. But when Mom and Dad do it… The two of them yell out, “Ew! Mom. Dad. Get a room!”

Luckily, we haven’t been caught making love yet.  I don’t even want to think of what could happen. Maybe their brains would implode? On the one hand, we think it’s hysterical, and any chance we get to exploit their embarrassment, we do. We’ve been known to egg them on with more kissing and hugging. On the other hand, they need to get a grip! They are both old enough to have had Sex Ed in school. They know how babies are made, hence, where they came from. So what’s so bad about a little kissing between parents?

So are you like us? Do you have kids that say, “Ew! Gross! Get a room!”

Hugs,
Deena

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa says:

    Hi, Well I have a 6 yr. old and she hasn’t seen me kissing a man yet, but I had a really Ewwwww!!! moment when I was about 11 or 12. My parents forgot I had a half a day of School and I walked in on them making Love on the couch. Lucky my younger brother and sister hadn’t gotten home yet and my friend who was with me didn’t see them. Also because they were so occupied at the time they didn’t hear me, so I walked back out and made loud noises before coming in again and they never new I saw them until I was in my 20’s and told my mom what happened. (my dad still doesn’t know). She was a little shocked but said ” well how did you think you got here” So every now and then when I see my parents giving each other a kiss I think back on that. Unfortunately I will never forget it and I tease my mom every now and then.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      OMG, so it has happened to you! And your brain didn’t implode. That’s good to know! LOL *shakes head and giggles*

      1. Lisa says:

        *Laughing* I’m shocked that I wasn’t traumatized by it, but I managed to get through it and again, thankfully my younger siblings didn’t see anything but Wow! Again, never will forget it……!!

  2. Donna Del Grosso says:

    Deena!
    Happy almost 18th. We’re celebrating ours tomorrow! We hug and kiss all the time our son is 17 and is over the “Ew” factor now. But our neighbors kid us becuase we hold hands always when walking the dog.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I love holding hands, Donna. Happy anniversary to you! Here’s to many more! 🙂

  3. We’ve been through that with our boys, too. And, like you, once they were squicked out by it, it was just too much fun not to make it a really big deal just to annoy them more. LOL

    But we’ve also reminded them that they’re lucky to live in a house where the mom and dad love each other enough, and want to be together enough, that they show affection like that. I think too many kids grow up in homes where their parents don’t ever show affection, and I think that’s much more sad than them being traumatized by their parents making out. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Hey there, Alannah! I agree with you. I’d much rather gross out my girls because we’re showing our love than to show them apathy or lack of love. Parents are the role models for successful or unsuccessful relationships. I prefer to be show them what a healthy, strong relationship looks like. 😀

  4. Our kids are all grown, but our son who is in twenties is staying with us. He doesn’t count, I suppose. It’s funny, I could not imagine my parents being romantic or having sex. It did seem wierd.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I couldn’t imagine it either when I was growng up… the sex part, that is. But I never minded watching my parents kiss. It made me feel very secure.

Leave a Reply

