A Writer’s Dream – by Kathleen Gallagher

{I’d like to welcome my good friend, Kathleen Gallagher, to my place today. Her novel, Echoes at Dawn, will be releasing in a couple of days! Read on to get some insight into how her career began. ~Deena}

I think I’ve always been a writer. As far back as I can remember, I’d stare out of the window in my room, and find myself in a magical land where all things were possible… I know it probably sounds like I’m idealistic. Sure, I like happy endings, but most importantly, a story has to touch my heart and emotionally move me. I will admit I adore horror flicks and dark tales when I want a thrill, but my heart belongs to a good old-fashioned love story.

 When I was seventeen, I watched the movie with Natalie Wood and Warren Beatty, Splendor in the Grass.  It’s a tale about young love and it touched me in a way, I’d never felt before. The ending was not what I expected, however, the dramatic conclusion, evoked a passion deep inside of me for story telling.

 Splendor in the Grass, an American movie from 1961, tells a story of sexual repression, love, heartbreak and manic-depression, which the character Deanie Loomis suffers from. It was written by William Inge, and the film was directed by Elia Kazan.

The film’s title is taken from a line of William Wordsworth‘s poem “Ode: Intimations of Immortality from Recollections of Early Childhood”:

What though the radiance which was once so bright

Be now for ever taken from my sight,

Though nothing can bring back the hour

Of splendor in the grass, of glory in the flower;

We will grieve not, rather find

Strength in what remains behind…

I still get chills when I read this verse.  You may be wondering why I’m talking about someone else’s work today, when I have the release of my debut novel Echoes at Dawn coming on March 30th. Well, my desire to make an impact on someone, like Splendor in the Grass did for me is my ultimate goal.

Source; Wikipedia

Echoes at Dawn will be released from Decadent Publishing on March 30th

Blurb

 The strangely intertwined lives of a widowed woman, and a charismatic bachelor come together in order to show that in life, there are no coincidences… only destiny.
 
Waterfront restaurant chef Madeline Young adores her job. If only her love and family’s lives were as successful as her career.  With a teenage son, who spends time in the emergency room for alcohol poisoning and a dementia-plagued mother, Madeline doesn’t know how much more she could handle. Then her mother enlists the help of her deceased twin sister, Mary, to guide Madeline to find true happiness.  An early dawn visit from the spirit directs Madeline to volunteer at the local hospitals center for addiction recovery, where she comes alive for the first time in many years under the attention of Nat Griffin.

Nathaniel Griffin, a part-time counselor and contractor, fascinates his clients with his lectures.  In keeping with his philosophy of professionalism, Nat prefers to keep his personal life private.  When attraction tests his beliefs, Nat must confront his marred past. Is he willing to face his demons or take the easier path and remain isolated?
 
Can unworldly ghosts save this couple from their own self-destructive behavior?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. JM Madden says:

    This book looks wonderful! And I love the correlation to the poem. Congratulations on your release!

  2. Thanks for having me as a guest today, Deena!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      My pleasure Kathleen! Yo are always welcome at my place! 😀

  3. The dream…the poem…is so beautiful, Kathleen : )

  4. Congratulations on the release date! Whoohoo!

  5. Hey Kathleen! Congrats on the release!

    I’m right there with you with wanting to know someone has been impacted by my work. There are things that when I read them, I tear up. To think that something I wrote might make someone laugh, or cry, or feel anything lasting…

    Of course, I’d also like to see someone cosplaying a character I created. A much less noble goal, but we’ve all got our guilty secrets.

    Congrats again on the release!

  6. Thanks to everyone for all the well wishes. Your support means so much to me!

    Kathleen

    Robert, I’m glad to here I’m not alone.

  7. Very happy for you. BOTH! Decadent is fortunate to have such enthusiastic writers.

    Heather
    Decadent Publishing
    http://www.decadentpublishing.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Heather! I feel truly blessed to be associated with Decadent Publishing.

Leave a Reply

