Soldiering on… Honoring our Veterans

Today is Veteran’s Day, and I am humbled. Yes, I teach the possible future leaders of our country, but I can’t hold a candle to those who put their lives at risk for the sake of protecting our freedoms. Our military folk are extraordinary individuals who sacrifice time with their own families to protect ours. They sacrifice countless days living in hostile areas, dealing with hostile individuals and groups, sometimes suffering through hostile environments. I sit here, thinking about what they might be doing at this very moment as I write this piece, and I am overwhelmed by the many possibilities. Some are off-duty, enjoying a bit of R&R. And some are not. Some are in scary places, doing scary business that we can’t even imagine. Some are feeding their buddies, sewing them up, praying with them, and teaching them how to be the best soldiers they can be. So while they muster unlimited stores of courage and bravery to face any adversity, we at home must stock our hearts with fortitude, silent courage of our own.

Today, I would like to add my gratitude to the many others being showered across the internet. You and your families have my heart and my blessings.


Hugs,
Deena

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    Adding my gratitude to yours, Deena. Thanks for this touching post. It’s added to the day.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you, Judy. 😀

  2. Ruth says:

    Thanks Deena, I am also thankful. Ruth

    1. deenaremiel says:

      You’re welcome, Ruth! 😀

Leave a Reply

