MISTY RAYBURN has SWAPPED BLOGS WITH ME!

My How The  Tables Have Turned – Blog for Deena

Friday night, tragedy struck!

My first generation Nook wet totally mad!

I noticed it at first when I was trying to read a review book.  It would let me read a few pages and then it would throw me out to the My Documents folder.  I tried restarting it and it had the same problem even with the store it would throw me back out after a few minutes. 

I decided it was time for a hard reset.

So I reset the thing and updated it again and got the same problem.  Even with the user guide for it.  It was simply time to talk to customer service.  I logged in to Barnes and Noble’s chat room and told the rep what I had done and he said I needed to send it in.

This absolutely broke my heart!

The way B&N does warranty returns, they just send you a new nook and you send yours back.  This means, my nook which was what started The Top Shelf and what led me to all these amazing authors, the gift my Brandon and our best friend Riz gave me for getting out of physical therapy with my back injury would be going back and end up sent out as a refurbished model to someone else.

I broke down into tears.  I was a wreck and when I was trying to explain it to my mom, she thought someone on the internet had upset me!  It really was quite a mess.  Mom told me the extended warranty was part of the gift too and that I should use it.

Begrudgingly and sniffling, I agreed.

I’m still not happy about it and the debacle with the shipping of my Kindle made it for a really bad day.  Is anyone else as sentimental about their e-reader?  I had to be told that it wasn’t the e-reader that started it all, it was me and that at least I didn’t lose my books.  I guess that’s true.  I’m still not going to like sending it in. 

I know I’m being a little bit too sentimental.  I know this refurb is going to be exactly like my old one and I’ve seen refurbs in the past that have actually worked better than the original.  It certainly doesn’t mean the end of The Top Shelf and it certainly doesn’t leave me without an e-reader as I have a nook color too. 

It’s all just rather funny in a way.  A year and some odd months ago I was iffy about e-readers.  I thought I would miss books and now here I am upset over having to send one back.  My how the tables have turned!
~Misty

AND NOW A TREAT! Misty has brought with her a book, an excerpt, and a prize to win! Check this out everyone…

When Journalist Kate Donovan is sent to profile the building and architectural firm of her first love, she heads back to the Low Country to face the demons she left behind. When Danny Flannery discovers Kate still wears the sea glass necklace he made for her years ago, they clear the air and their passion reignites. But can Danny risk his heart again for the only woman he’s ever loved?

SO HOW CAN YOU ENTER FOR A CHANCE TO WIN THIS WONDERFUL E-BOOK? JUST LEAVE A COMMENT AND AN EMAIL ADDY. MISTY WILL CHOOSE THE WINNER BY 8 PM.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. CassandraG says:

    Wonderful post. It’s amazing how fast, one can become attached to something,especially when you weren’t sure about it in the first place.
    divavixenqueen(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. Kathy says:

    I sorry to hear about your back problems and your nook book!I understand I also have back and attachment problems to my personal things.I hope it all works out for you.

  3. Doug D. says:

    You’re not the only one that gets sentimental like that… I had to send my Nook in after having it for about 3 months. I was happy, though… Because I’d dropped mine, but they still replaced it…
    Thanks B&N!!!
    🙂

    dougdutcher(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Connie Dash says:

    I’d lose my mind without my Kindle!! I have trouble reading printed books now, and with my larger kindle and large fonts, I can read all I want now. I use it EVERY DAY, and it was a gift too. I feel your sentiments for sure 🙂

  5. Bridget Bowers says:

    I know how attached I get to print copies of my books, so it doesn’t surprise me that your e-reader would come to mean as much. I know that I cuddle up in bed with mine and I’d feel like I lost my teddy bear if I had to give it up.
    Keep up the great posts, you actually make me laugh out loud.
    ttfntig73(at)hotmail(dot)com

  6. Michelle Layne says:

    I’m lost without my nook on the rare occasions.s that I forget to put it back in my purse. Nice blog and the book sounds interesting!

  7. Pam Stack says:

    I love my Kindle but I still love my books!

  8. swarulz says:

    Just to let you guys know, I put the wrong date in my email to Deena. I will be picking winners on Monday night at 8pm Eastern!

  9. Mellisa Neal says:

    I love my kindle and to read i take it every where i go

  10. Christy Hayes says:

    I can sympathize! Thanks for featuring my book!

  11. Charmaine says:

    Would go crazy if anything had to happen to my Kindle. Thanks for all the wonderful give-aways. it has been a lot of fun!

  12. Congrats to Pam Stack! You have won the copy of Heart of Glass! I will be emailing you shortly with how to claim your prize!

  13. deenaremiel says:

    Congrats, PAM STACK! And thank you all for swinging by and sharing your thoughts with us. 🙂 Hope you return to my place soon! I fyou like it here, why not subscribe? 🙂

Leave a Reply

