“Curses! Foiled again!”

What makes a villain evil? Could it be his sadistic behavior? Well, maiming and murdering people isn’t gonna get him on Santa’s Nice List, that’s for sure! Could it be his personality? Obsessive/compulsive tendencies and a skewed grandiose perception of self may help promote the “creeper” persona. What about what he says? I’ve had shivers run up and down my spine simply from reading the words of a psychopath.

Let’s examine a few classic villains, or evil dudes, and what they’ve said. Let’s see if what they say terrifies us or gives us the creeps…

The Silence of the LambsHannibal Lecter: A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.

Hannibal Lecter: [on telephone] I do wish we could chat longer, but… I’m having an old friend for dinner. Bye.

The Dark KnightThe Joker: [to Det. Stephens] Do you want to know why I use a knife? Guns are too quick. You can’t savor all the… little emotions. In… you see, in their last moments, people show you who they really are. So in a way, I know your friends better than you ever did. Would you like to know which of them were cowards?

Lord VoldemortVoldemort: Don’t you turn your back on me, Harry Potter! I want you to look at me when I kill you! I want to see the light leave your eyes!

Voldemort: I’m going to kill you, Harry Potter. I’m going to destroy you. After tonight, no one will ever again question my power. After tonight if they speak of you, they’ll only speak of how you begged for death. And how I being a merciful Lord… obliged.

Have you noticed that these evil characters choose their words very carefully? I bet you can even hear them saying these creepy lines, too. And wouldn’t you know it, NOT ONE CURSE WORD IN THE LOT! Interesting.

Being a Language Arts teacher, I have a natural love for words. Did you know we have a lot of them in our dictionary? So many wonderful words to choose from that can create terrifying images when grouped together to form sentences. In my humble opinion, a curse word, strategically used, can deepen an emotion. But curse words don’t automatically equal evil. In Trinity, for example, my heroine curses more than my villains! And yet, I have it on record that some women have stopped reading Trinity before bedtime because some of Agremon’s and Namirha’s scenes are so frightening.

See for yourself! Trinity and Relic, the latest in the Brethren series, are on sale now for only $0.99, but for a limited time. GET YOUR FILL OF CREEPY VILLAINS and their chilling, witty banter…

Relic (The Brethren Series) Trinity (The Brethren Series)

So, what’s your take on it? Is it directly proportional? The more a villain curses, the more evil he or she is. REALLY? Let me know your thoughts…

6 Comments Add yours

  1. P. Kirby says:

    Heh. Paging through my mental list of villains–movies and print–I can’t think of many that do much cursing, particularly F/SF/H villains. I mean, sure, a gangbanger in an urban drama drops f-bombs like they’re going out of style, but in stories with a paranormal or sci-fi twist, it’s more likely to be the protagonists that use salty language.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks for weighing in! I agree with your assessment wholeheartedly! And it challenges us as writers to bring the evil out without resorting to “filler”, like curse words…

  2. kellymhudson says:

    This blog needs more cursing! Lol! Joking! It’s an interesting debate. Most of the great villians I can name don’t curse, so I think you’re right. I think it’s mostly in the cold, calculating way the great villians act that sticks with me most, though. No hysterical statements, no panic, just pure control and menace.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I totally agree, Kelly. Pure control and menace! They make every word count, not a one wasted. As I said in the above comment, it challenges us, as writers, to get the menace across, to give our readers the chills, by using exact language and not go for the easy curse word time and again.

  3. Shaunda says:

    Hahahaha I love it

Leave a Reply

