Crisis Diverted! A Space to Write…

Over the past few weeks I have been plagued with a finicky muse. She finally told me that the space I was using to write just wasn’t cutting it for her. The living room couch- no good. The office upstairs- nope. My bedroom- not happening. It seemed that everywhere I tried to write, there was always noise. Familiar noise that distracted me.


So I decided to block it out with white noise. Too high-pitched. But the pink noise was lovely for  a while. But then it became irritating to my ears, as well. So I tried music, something I already knew was a stretch. It’s so ingrained in me that I’m constantly distracted by it, so I didn’t hold out much hope. As suspected, I loved the music, but didn’t get much writing done.  

 

Well, my aunt came to my writing rescue! She offered her guest room, detached from the house, as a writing den whenever I wish. Just a room with a bathroom and closet. (No this picture is NOT her guest room.) SCORE! A perfectly quiet space to create. No more noise, no more masking the noise with more noise. I’ve been there twice this week and my muse is so happy. I have a snack table big enough for my laptop and a folding chair, just a tad uncomfortable as to keep me actively engaged. HEAVEN. I’m finally able to HEAR my story and write it down. This is a massive deal. You see, by next week, I’ll have a book to edit and yet another to continue writing. I need my peace and quiet to reach my goals. And so I shall have it. Ahhh!

Here are some famous writers’ writing areas…

Roald Dahl’s Writing Shed:                              Jane Austen’s simple area:      

                           

 

Piers Anthony’s:                                                Henry David Thoreau’s:
                

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jowanna says:

    maybe that is what i need. a place with no distractions. no aunt here going to offer that. plus if i told them my muse needed it they would lock me up .

    1. deenaremiel says:

      LOL Yeah, well I didn’t bring her up in the conversation either… 😉

  2. Emma says:

    I love the feather quill in Austen’s pic.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Me, too. And I love how small her space is. I went to a workshop where we talked about creating our space. What to put in it and around us, and I’ve come to learn that all I need is a little snack table and a chair and I’m there, ready to write. The more things around me, the more distracted I am.

      1. Emma says:

        I know, it’s so easy to be distracted. I usually just write sitting on the couch but I’d like to create my own space, even if it is just a simple chair and table in a corner.

        1. deenaremiel says:

          Have fun creating your own space! I plan to do just that when we move again eventually. For now, the casita will have to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

