How a 1-Night Stand Changed my Life

30 participating authors!

 TWO Grand Prizes!!

1st place – A Kindle Touch
2nd place – a $50 Amazon.com gift certificate

 Plus, win prizes at every stop of the blog hop!

 On July 5, start here, and have fun hopping!

HOW A 1-NIGHT STAND CHANGED MY LIFE

I never was a 1 Night Stand kinda girl. It was during college that I got my dating chops and explored the possibilities of hooking up for one night with a guy. But I found, when I went on a date, it was always with the hopes of starting a relationship with him, even though I had promised myself not to get attached and just have fun. Can you say starving for affection? A bit. Believe in fairy tales much? Could be. Hopelessly romantic? Most definitely! 

So I gave up on the multi-dating idea and headed for long-term relationships. It suited me better. Not that I’m a serial monogamist. I’ve been married now for 19 years. Before that, I was in a relationship for a year during my senior year of college.

When I was approached to write a story about a 1 Night Stand, I thought to myself, can I do it? Can I write a story about two people meeting for the first time with the clear intent on it being only for a night? I honestly didn’t know, and therefore considered it a challenge I couldn’t refuse. As it turned out, thinking about all the possibilities that can ensue from a 1 Night Stand, I was encouraged. I changed my opinion of what these brief, intense encounters can lead to. It doesn’t have to always be the walk of shame the next morning. It can be the start of so much more.

 I began to craft my story in the paranormal realm. What kind of supernatural being did I want to write as  the hero? I hadn’t written a ghost character yet and thought that might be perfect. But knowing my nature, I always have to put a spin on things. He wouldn’t be your average, run of the mill ghost. No, there would need to be irony. A play on words flitted through my mind, and my hero became “a ghost of a man” quite literally.

Another phrase teased my creative energies, and I decided that because he’d been a ghost of a man in his marriage, he would be cursed to become one and spend the rest of his days “ghosting through life”.  I don’t know about anyone else, but when I see people who spend their lives doing everything they can to fade into the woodwork, and only go through the motions of daily life to get through it all, I call it ghosting through life. They are lifeless and have either lost their sense of meaning in the world or never found one for themselves in the first place. Ghost of a Chance (1 Night Stand Series)

And that is how Ghost of a Chance got its wings. But it’s really about second chances at life. For Remy, who has repented and yet to receive clemency. And for Susannah, who lost her only love and has finally recognized that working herself into the ground is only masking the pain of loss and not allowing her the possibility of moving on.

Here’s the blurb to Ghost of a Chance. I hope you’ll pick up a copy and be witness to Remy and Susannah’s re-entry into the world of the living…

Susannah’s married to her career. And she’s about ready for a divorce. Drowning in grief over the loss of her husband years ago, she initially immersed herself in a high-powered position at her marketing firm. But recently, she’s lost that loving feeling. Is she finally able to accept that her need for a man, for love in her life is stronger than her desire to bury it?

Remy, once a high-profile building magnate, is a ghost of a man, literally. Cursed by a vengeful ex-wife he neglected, he’s relegated to shadows of his former world. She meant for him to spend the rest of his life without the chance of normalcy ever again, and he believed she succeeded. But could there be a way out?

Susannah and Remy, two people ghosting through life, until they are brought together by a fateful One Night Stand. Both are seeking re-entry to the land of the living and loving. Can they fulfill each other’s deepest desires and learn what it means to live again?

Here’s an excerpt to tantalize you further…
   “Will you join me over here or shall I join you in the mysterious shadows?”
   “You’re lovely over there. Stay. The way the light plays against your hair and sparkles in your eyes, well…you’re breathtaking, Susannah.”
   Rendered speechless by his intensity, she stood as still as the statue they spoke of, and… blushed. Her cheeks were on fire! Get a grip, Susannah! “Thank you. I….I, heck.” She blew out a breath and started again. “Come over here so we can sit and get better acquainted.”
He still didn’t move. Is he so shy that he hides behind trees and in shadows? 
   “Do you think I’ll get to see you before the night is over?” She heard a soft chuckle. Good, maybe a little humor will loosen him up.
   “Perhaps. I’m a bit nervous, as you can no doubt tell. I haven’t had any success with this kind of thing before.”
   She took a step toward him–she would have to be the aggressor. “Neither have I, and I’m a little nervous, too.” 
   “You mentioned in your bio you were interested in a magical experience. One that would ‘sweep you away’.” His voice cracked, and he cleared his throat.
   “Yes, I am.” She inched closer to the frozen, outlined figure.
   “Before you take another step, you should know I’m different.”
   “I read in the New York Times that you became reclusive about ten years ago. You’ve taken great strides toward ending that by being here now.”
   “There’s a reason why I keep to myself. It may startle you, so be prepared. I am very much on the magical side of this world at the moment.”
   Before she could move, he did, which brought him out of the shadows and into the light. Susannah gasped, startled at the transparency of the man who stood before her. Nervous laughter bubbled in her throat.
   “What is this, some kind of joke? A holographic image projected here while you hide safe and secure in your room?” “I’m afraid not. I’ve been living an alternative lifestyle lately.” He opened his arms as if to show himself off and let them fall back to his sides. “And this is all I am. I’m a ghost of a man, Susannah.”

**And now, if you’d like a chance to win GHOST OF A CHANCE, tell me what kind of fun you’d have as a ghost! Be creative! Have fun!**

The link to buy this special  1 Night Stand story… GHOST OF A CHANCE

CLICK HERE TO LINK BACK TO THE
1-NIGHT STAND HOP

104 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary Preston says:

    I’d think I’d use my ghost status to get some payback. I know that’s mean, but I’m a ghost right?

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFL! Absolutely! You could wreak some major havoc in certain people’s lives. Eye for an eye, right? 😉

  2. Jessica Subject says:

    Thanks for participating in the blog hop, Deena!

    As a ghost, I’d travel more. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks for putting it all together, Jessica! I so appreciate it. 🙂

  3. kimmyl says:

    I’d use my ghost status to change my gpa to a 4.0, and to take sneek peeks at some very hot men.
    readingdiva@ymail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oooh, you know, very cool idea! Um, especially the part about the very hot men… 😉

  4. yganoe says:

    As a ghost, I’d love to travel…
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      That would be amazing… 🙂

  5. JLH says:

    Sorry, but I think I like my life as is too much to want to be a ghost. It would be nice though to not have to age and to be able to drift from place to place without worrying about time and deadlines.

    jlhmass at yahoo dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I agree! I love my life! But I’m a storymaker and swim in the “What if” waters all the time. So I appreciate you going there with me. 🙂

  6. Drea Becraft says:

    I’d probably travel the world and become an unabashed voyeur lol. Hey your dead why not!

    ~*Drea*~
    dreabecraft(@)aol.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFL! LOVE it, Drea! Why the heck not?!

  7. JM Madden says:

    Hi Deena! This sounds fantastic! What a neat play on words. I think if I was a ghost I’d have to solve crimes. Sorry, that’s the ex-cop talking. Maybe for fun I could be the one to rob a bank? Ha!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      JM, you could have a blast as GHOST COP! You could have a living partner and solve crimes together! Ha ha! OR… turn total criminal on us, too… LOVE IT!

  8. I already own Ghost of a Chance, but I definitely be a haunting revenge ghost. It’d be fun for me, probably not for the person I’d haunt. LOL
    vanessa(@)thejeepdiva(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Ahhhh, the avenging ghost… SO much fun!

  9. Hi Deena,
    Like you, I’m in a 20 year relationship, and I admire your ability to write a fabulous 1NS!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you so much! And thanks for the eye-catching ghostly cover!!! 😀

  10. Don’t want to be a ghost!! I want to go when I go and not hang around. BUT I might like to go take a look at the men’s shower room – cough

    1. deenaremiel says:

      PRECISELY! That’s what I’m thinking. I mean, Remy wasn’t dead… He was just a ghost of a man. Looking at the positive there, some fine abs and pecs and, you know what, to sigh over. ROFL

  11. Melissa Keir says:

    I loved Ghost of a Chance! A wonderful read! Thanks for sharing!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Melissa! Thrilled you loved it.. ❤

  12. Carin W says:

    I love the play on the whole ghost/ghost of a man. If I were a ghost (assumeing I am dead and a ghost) I would love to be able to come back and see my family and loved ones again to make sure I told them I loved them one last time and was able to pass on any great advice I had for them. (wish I knew what that advice might be LOL)
    Carin mawmom@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Carin! Wouldn’t it be something if we acquired all the knowledge we ever needed to know once we passed on?

  13. Valerie Mann says:

    Ghost of a Chance was one of our first paranormal 1NS and a great addition. Plus the cover is hot, LOL!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Valerie. It’s a fave story of mine. 🙂 Mwuaah!

  14. Toni says:

    Glad you took the chance Deena! Hmmmm if I was a ghost – I wouldn’t focus on havoc, but I sure would enjoy some fun naughty stuff. I think I would be mischievousness.

    tsteinerid(gmail)

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Toni! 😀 I would love to see how celebrities go about a normal day, so being a ghost would allow me to follow them around discreetly. *Raises eyebrows*

  15. Anne says:

    I’d probably become qute the peeping Tomasina! Professional athlete locker rooms, here I come.

    acm05atjuno.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFL! LOVE IT! And I’d be right next to you… LOL

  16. Andie Wardlow says:

    Please don’t enter me…I have this book. Just saying hi! I think if I was a ghost I would hang out with Tatum Channing…
    andieleah78@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      HI Andie! mwuaah! You just said my two favorite words. Channing and Tatum! HAHAHAHA!

  17. Arlene says:

    Interesting to imagine being a ghost, and I think I need to read more than the excerpt to get a better handle on what I’d do, but most of all, I just want to read all of Ghost of a Chance. Awesome premise.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Arlene!:) I’m kinda partial to Remy, myself. lol

  18. sue says:

    I like how your mind works. I know people like that–I call them “grey” people because their bodies and minds are grey and they fade into the background

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks Sue. 🙂 I like your analogy as well. Grey definitely fades into the background. 🙂

  19. Emma says:

    I’d scare the crap out of my sisters. We’re always jumping out at each other shouting “boo!”. Yes, we’re all adults 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I love it, Emma! I’m sure my daughters would do the same thing to each other. LOL

  20. Sherry Gloag says:

    If I were a ghost, I’d become a ‘ghost writer’ LOL and help someone create a mega best seller :-0

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFL Awesome, Sherry! come on over and help me, would ya?! 😛

  21. StacieD says:

    Being a ghost would be fun. I always wanted to be a fly on the wall. Imagine the things you could see!

    Geishasmom73 at yahoo dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      OMG I know, right?! SO much fun! I’ve always been the curious sort… lol

  22. VS Morgan says:

    Hi Deena!

    Just stopping by to say hi to a fellow DP author. I really enjoyed reading Ghost of a Chance!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Aw, thanks so much for the drive by and reading Ghost of a Chance! I just sent back my edits for Elixxir, so I can now go have fun hopping around myself! See ya soon! 🙂

  23. tore923 says:

    I would use my ghost power to go place to place. That way I could visit alot more places in short periods of time.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I definitely would love to travel around much more than I’m able to right now.

  24. elaing8 says:

    Please don’t enter me for the giveaway,I have this book.
    I’d go spy on all my guy crushes(actors,models etc.) you know in the shower,changing,when they’re having alone time 😉
    elaing8(at)netscape(dot)

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Elaine, can I go spying with you? LOL 😀

  25. Kali Willows says:

    DEENA!!!!

    Love your post! I still remember RT 2011 seeing you at the DP booth with smiles, and telling me how I should consider writing for them! (I didn’t think I could measure up lol), then Kate and Becca schmoozed me, and it was a done deal! I too have become the long term married monogamist, and admit, having a little play time before hand, but I had the same reservations you did when asked to write a 1NS – “Could I?” eh hmm, well, I guess I got my answer lol
    Hugs
    Kali

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oh Kali, seems like ages ago doesn’t it? And now, you sure as hell can, girlfriend! I’m so glad the “matchmaking” worked out for you and DP. HEY, maybe I’M Madame Eve! ROFL

  26. Julianne says:

    I’d love to haunt a house. Turn on/off lights, rattle chains, step on those squeaky boards on the floor. Move stuff from cupboard to cupboard. Hide things,

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Ooh, can I join you?! LOL

  27. Ashlynn monroe says:

    Great book!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Ash! You know how I love yours! ❤

  28. Zee Monodee says:

    A ghost? The first row in a male stripper’s club, and then hopping backstage for more eye candy… 🙂

    zeemonodee [at] hotmail [dot] com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oh that’s perfect… 😉

  29. I think I’m with Zee on this one….I’d be hitting up all the places where the sex to the y man candy is at….love me some man candy! Maybe I’d use some powers and not be seen but definitely give some hands on action(not THAT kind of action….), if you know what i mean…..;) Mr. Kade…that’s my Kindle by the way……would be very delighted to have another installment added to the collection! 😀 Thanks!
    molly(@)reviewsbymolly(.)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFL! Nothing like experience to lend itself to new thrilling stories… 😉

  30. LT says:

    Yep i would choose Ghost also.. I always want to be as far away from my normal life while reading as possible.. But after i play i wanna come back to living also..lol

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I like that thought… going to play for a bit as a ghost and coming back to the land of the living afterward. 🙂

  31. Cate Masters says:

    Love that there are so many different premises for the 1NS line! Someday I hope to read them all. Yours sounds wonderful.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Cate. I agree! That’s what I love about our series. Such variety! Looking forward to reading yours as well. 🙂

  32. D L Jackson says:

    I really like the sound of this and will be picking up one this week.

  33. My mom & grandmother would say people like Remy are not living, they are exisiting. If I were a ghost, I think I’d mess with the people who pissed me off. Then I would go for the man candy

    wolphcall(at)bellsouth(dot)net

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I agree with them, too. 🙂 Oh, the possibilities when you can’t be seen, eh? 😉

  34. Sara Daniel says:

    As a ghost, I’d follow those people who leave cryptic Facebook statuses where you know there’s a whole story they’re not saying online and get all the dirt and the real story behind the blowup. And I’d enjoy a little mancandy too. 😉

    sarashafer at rocketmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      HAHAHA! Love it Sara. 🙂

  35. Susan W. says:

    Oh, the things one could do as a ghost! I would do some tom-peeping in on some of the hot guys we all see as eye candy. You know who I’m talking about! Can we say Channing Tatum, Jason Statham, Joe Manganiello… Add in whoever you want here! LOL! Otherwise it would be to spy on all the haters from my past!

    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I’m right there with ya, Susan! Channing Tatum is just so scrumptious! 😀

  36. Vanessa N. says:

    There are definitely some hot guys I would check out and get some revenge on a few people.

    mythic021@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I’d love to see the faces of the folks as they wonder…

  37. Eva P. says:

    I think I might visit some celebrities, just to see how they live ;-D

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I would LOVE to know how some of them live. What do they do when no one is in the house and there’s no one to put a show on for…

  38. bn100 says:

    I’d travel around and be able to shop easily in stores.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      OMG! How could I forget shopping?! 😉

  39. Erykah Wyck says:

    Oh I have no idea what I would do as a ghost, maybe haunt my favorite places or go to Salem MA at halloween just to mess with peoples heads 🙂 Anyway just came by to support my fellow 1NS authors 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I love your ideas! 😀

  40. I would be the mischevious, bratty ghost. I would love to do little things that make people question their sanity. Such as move things our of their normal place or write notes and leave them in strange places. Just play a little.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Ahhh, so YOU’RE the one messing around in my house! LOL

  41. Catherine says:

    I don’t think I’d enjoy being a ghost–being in the world but not able to affect it. There’s no one I hold ill will towards so I wouldn’t want to mess with anyone. If I could help people…If I could help the recently decreased get some closure and move on, I would try to do that.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      What a lovely thing to do! 🙂

  42. Brandi S. says:

    I love your book cover and the excerpt! I have never thought about being a ghost…..I guess the main thing I would do is watch over my family and each generation and try to do whatever I can to keep them in the right direction in life. Thanks for the giveaway!
    flava_sava_chick@yahoo.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Brandi! I love that idea that since you’d always be around, you could help each generation… 🙂

  43. VanillaOrchids says:

    I actually have Ghost of a Chance and enjoyed reading it! 🙂
    After reading how you came up with the story, I’m a bit sadden because I think I fall into your category of ‘ghosting through life’. Heck, most of the time I think that I don’t even have a life; I just exist, and it really is no way to live.
    Well, anyway, don’t mind me. 🙂 And, of course, there is no need to enter me for the copy of Ghost of a Chance as I already have it. Thank you though!

    Pam
    vanillaorchids69(at)gmail(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Pam, just like Remy, you, too, can enter the land of the living. I’m a big proponent of being proactive and present in your life. So when you’re ready, just step outside your protective cocoon and join in. It’s pretty cool out here. Hugs and smoochies!

      1. VanillaOrchids says:

        I think it’s going to be easier said than done, but thank you. 🙂

  44. Kim says:

    I would stay close to my family and watch over them ~ more like an angel than a ghost. I’ve read several of your books and loved each one, haven’t got this one yet. Best of luck.
    Kim

    kimbre15 at aol dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you, Kim! SO glad you’re enjoying my work. 🙂 I probably would do the same as you. 🙂

  45. I enjoyed Ghost of a Chance too! I loved Susannah’s problem solving and solution to Remy’s problem!

    I’m almost ashamed to say this, but I would use my ghost status in a voyeur kind of a way. I would be tempted for pay back, but you know, sometimes it’s just fun to watch 😉

    teresa dot miller at tigerblossom dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Teresa! It was a lot of fun writing that scene, let me tell ya! LOL I definitely would like to utilize my talents for a little voyeurism, too. 🙂

  46. June M. says:

    GHOST OF A CHANCE sounds really good. It may sound really bad, but I would probably use my ghost status to haunt people who have ended up doing things to hurt me. Oh and my niece just for fun 😉
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, June! We have some vengeful peeps here already, so you’ve got company, including me! ROFL

  47. JoAnna B says:

    What would I do with a ghost? Hmmm. I will assume that he has the ability to switch between walking thru walls and being solid enough to pick things up. Ok I was going one way with that but my little you can’t write that meter went off (yep, I’m not a writer – I’m blushing just thinking about what I was going to write). Let’s just say we would hopefully have a lot of fun!
    Beckerjo at Verizon dot net

    1. deenaremiel says:

      JoAnna, you little minx, you! 😉

  48. dominiqueeastwick says:

    Just hopping in to show my 1NS love to the other authors. Deena love your writing 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Dom! Right back atcha! Mwuaaah! 😀

  49. Tina B says:

    Great post, Deena. 🙂
    Loved the excerpt. Please do not enter me into the contest as I already have this one. I just have to get to reading it. 😉
    trb0917 at gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Tina! mwuaaah!

  50. My one night….day…stand, turned into a marriage that is working on year number 6
    freedombookss@yahoo.com

  51. Shadow says:

    Sounds like a great story! Loved the excerpt! Thank you so much for the giveaway and the awesome hop!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  52. Tonya says:

    I love this hop. I have about 8 more stops and an hour and a half left to do it. But I’m having fun and I have a huge TBR list.
    Tonya
    author_tonya_callihan@hotmail.com

  53. chickie434 says:

    If I were a ghost, I’d use my abilities to play jokes on people and to sneak into places so I could find out the truth about important questions. Such as, is Area 51 really real? Do vamps and shifters really exist? Or, does the White House really have a movie theatre and a bowling alley in it? Oh, plus I’d sneak into movie theatres and watch movies all the time. 🙂

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  54. Adila says:

    WOW! You wrote a very interesting and unusual story. Congrats.

    Thank You for participating in this HOP.

    I hope I’m not to late to participate. Mixed because of the time difference; I’m from Azerbaijan.

    Adila
    esmeralda10az@at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

