Howloween BL0G H0P…

TO RETURN to HOP, CLICK on button above or here: http://thebloghopspot.com/event-page/

Ahhhhwhooooooo! Welcome to my place for your next stop on the HOWLOWEEN Blog Hop!

I love Halloween, don’t you? As a child I loved to go around, filling my pillowcase with candy, and being out a night with tons of people all giddy and having fun as well. As an adult, I appreciate all the horror movies, all the witty costumes, and STILL, all the candy!

You may or may not know this, but I’m a Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy writer, so this time of year is especially awesome for me. I love the idea of the veil between worlds thinning on this hallowed eve. I believe in angels and demons and everything in between. This is reflected in my stories. But today, I’m only going to focus on one idea… THE GHOST.

I’ve been watching Ghost Adventures and Ghost Hunters ever since these shows arrived on TV. At first, it was a challenge to not wimp out, because ghosts were  the only subjects that scared the bejeebers out of me. I endured these shows with hands before my eyes until one day, I could watch without fear. So the next challenge, naturally was to write a ghost story. Well, I’m an English teacher by day, so the temptation to make a play on words was too much to pass up. Thus began the short story, GHOST OF A CHANCE.

Don’t worry, it’s not a scary story. It’s a sensual, spicy story of irony and second chances. Why don’t we turn the lights down a bit, get into a certain frame of mind, and have a read of a couple of excerpts from GHOST OF A CHANCE.

First, a summary of the story…

     Susannah’s married to her career. And she’s about ready for a divorce. Drowning in grief over the loss of her husband years ago, she initially immersed herself in a high-powered position at her marketing firm. But recently, she’s lost that loving feeling. Is she finally able to accept that her need for a man, for love in her life is stronger than her desire to bury it?

     Remy, once a high-profile building magnate, is a ghost of a man, literally. Cursed by a vengeful ex-wife he neglected, he’s relegated to shadows of his former world. She meant for him to spend the rest of his life without the chance of normalcy ever again, and he believed she succeeded. But could there be a way out?

     Susannah and Remy, two people ghosting through life, until they are brought together by a fateful One Night Stand. Both are seeking re-entry to the land of the living and loving. Can they fulfill each other’s deepest desires and learn what it means to live again? 

Now for an excerpt (non-spicy)…

“Will you join me over here or shall I join you in the mysterious shadows?”

“You’re lovely over there. Stay. The way the light plays against your hair and sparkles in your eyes, well…you’re breathtaking, Susannah.”

Rendered speechless by his intensity, she stood as still as the statue they spoke of, and… blushed. Her cheeks were on fire! Get a grip, Susannah! “Thank you. I….I, heck.” She blew out a breath and started again. “Come over here so we can sit and get better acquainted.”

He still didn’t move. Is he so shy that he hides behind trees and in shadows?

“Do you think I’ll get to see you before the night is over?” She heard a soft chuckle. Good, maybe a little humor will loosen him up.

“Perhaps. I’m a bit nervous, as you can no doubt tell. I haven’t had any success with this kind of thing before.”

She took a step toward him—she would have to be the aggressor. “Neither have I, and I’m a little nervous, too.”

“You mentioned in your bio you were interested in a magical experience. One that would ‘sweep you away’.” His voice cracked, and he cleared his throat.

“Yes, I am.” She inched closer to the frozen, outlined figure.

“Before you take another step, you should know I’m different.”

“I read in the New York Times that you became reclusive about ten years ago. You’ve taken great strides toward ending that by being here now.”

“There’s a reason why I keep to myself. It may startle you, so be prepared. I am very much on the magical side of this world at the moment.”

Before she could move, he did, which brought him out of the shadows and into the light. Susannah gasped, startled at the transparency of the man who stood before her. Nervous laughter bubbled in her throat.

“What is this, some kind of joke? A holographic image projected here while you hide safe and secure in your room?”

“I’m afraid not. I’ve been living an alternative lifestyle lately.” He opened his arms as if to show himself off and let them fall back to his sides. “And this is all I am. I’m a ghost of a man, Susannah.”

 

 AND NOW FOR THE SPICY EXCERPT…

She enjoyed the decadent morsels, but noticed he hadn’t eaten a thing.

“Don’t you like any of these delectable treats?” She licked the crème off her fingers.

“Oh, I do. Especially the one sitting right in front of me.” His words pierced right through to the part of her that longed to hear flirtatious comments such as this, and she diverted her gaze to the pattern in the blanket. “I just don’t need food or drink in my condition, nor could I pick any of it up, anyway.” He tried picking up a glass, but his fingers went right through it. “See?” He shrugged. “I…I can’t hold you the way I’d like to either.”

Susannah moved to the blanket and crouched down right in front of him. “Somehow we’ll find a way to please each other. I know we will.” She shifted to a more comfortable position, as close to him as she could get without going through him. “Why don’t you tell me how you’d like to touch me? I find your voice reaches me deeper and more sensually than any hand has ever done. Since you first spoke, it has kept me teetering on the edge of rapture.”

She could see his surprise at her aggressive response. And a longing, even in his transparency, clued her in, for the outline of his jaw dropped about an inch at first, and then his shoulders and arms vibrated and blurred as she spoke her truth. But if they were to find any kind of sensual release with each other, they would have to think outside the box and go for it. He reached for her and stopped.

“Tell me, Remy. Tell me what you’re doing to me.”

“I…I’m caressing your cheek and running my thumb over your mouth.” He moved close enough to her so that they were but a hair away from touching. Susannah’s breath hitched as Remy intoxicated her. “I’m about to kiss you, Susannah. Gently, like a faint whisper, my lips press against yours. Now, I’m deepening it, teasing your mouth open with the tip of my tongue, tasting how sweet you are. You and I breathe together as one.” Her lips parted as her eyes fluttered closed, and she swayed, dizzy from the surreal experience. “Oh, my sweet Susannah, how I ache to ravish you for real.”

This is crazy! I feel more with this ghost than I ever have with men made of flesh and blood, including my husband who I loved since grade school. She opened her eyes, reached out, and placed her palms where she saw the outline of his cheeks. Leaning back until she rested on the blanket, she rejoiced that he’d followed her down, hovering over her so that the shimmering stars on the ceiling shone through his body. “Kiss me again, Remy. And this time don’t stop.”

 

WANT MORE?! You have a chance to win it! Comment below, include your email, and you’re entered to win! If you don’t win this treat, you can still get it here for only 99cents!

KINDLE     B&N

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Phyllis Marshall says:

    Those excerpt were very inticing! Have to say, Deena, you hooked me with the first one and I was sunk by the second. I’m looking forward to reading it!!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Now THAT’S what I like to hear! 😉 Glad you enjoyed!

  2. miriam roman says:

    LOVED the excerpts! i will be getting these on payday! thanks for the hop!
    miriam.whitewolf@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Wonderful, Miriam! 😀 Thank you! ❤

  3. Jaxs says:

    Trick or Treat! I’ll take that treat please 🙂
    You say you would prefer a trick?
    Risky don’t you think.
    I might reveal where you were the night the “great Pumpkin was murdered’!
    Treat please 🙂

    Happy Hallow’s Eve to you & your troop of monsters!
    Jaxs

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oh, no! Don’t tell! the only other person who knows is Charlie Brown, and no one would believe him anyway… 😛

  4. Awesome excerpt. Sounds like a lovely story.

    Janice~

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Janice. 🙂

  5. maccrowne says:

    Well, now. There’s an excerpt guaranteed to change your opinion of ghosts. 😉

    maccrowne@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Well now, thank you! LOL 😉

Leave a Reply

