Autumn’s Harvest Blog H0P

                  

Hello, everyone! I’m #159 on the AUTUMN HARVEST Blog Hop, but you can call me Deena Remiel. Welcome to my place! You’ve caught me in the middle of decorating the place for AUTUMN and the THANKSGIVING season. AUTUMN happens to be my favorite time of year. If you have a couple of minutes to spare, I’d love to share why.

First, there’s nothing that beats the smell of wood burning in fireplaces and wood-burning stoves. Except if you add the aroma of freshly fallen leaves  that have been dampened by a light Fall rain. I can close my eyes and call forth those scents right now. Know what follows? A huge grin. Because those remembrances bring others with them…

   Fallen Leaves by MSVG

I recall as a child, and then as a parent, all those times I, and then my kids would jump into piles of raked leaves. Over and over again, we’d do it. What a comfy nest all those leaves made! And the crunching sounds… well, we’d try to make it as loud as we could. Days like those, my mother and I didn’t really care how long it took to get the leafy bits out of our hair and clothing.

We’d head inside for a cup of  warmed apple cider and donuts.  On weekends, where my family lived, we could go to orchards a couple of minutes away for pumpkin and apple picking and hayrides. The kids are older now and remember with such fondness those special times. I know that when they eventually have their own children, these experiences will become ritual as they were for us.

Pumpkins by wearitdotcom  Hayride by Wildcat Dunny

There’s one evening activity that nobody grows out of… bonfires, roasting marshmallows, and making S’mores! My all-time favorites! I love inviting friends over, lighting the logs on the firepit, and hanging out. The kids used to play flashlight tag after stuffing their bellies with S’mores, and the adults sit around, drinking beers or wine, telling stories and laughing up a storm. 

Fire Pit - Caspar California by CasparGirl  Roasting Marshmallows by ninahale  S'more by sanchom

SO, can I get you all something to drink? Would you like to make yourself a S’mores? How about sharing all that with my leading men: Michael, Raphael, Gabriel, Nathanael, Cassiel, Derek. Let’s sing some songs while we’re at it! One last thing. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention what I do. I write Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance. I would love for you to try out my “wares” as Autumn is the perfect season for all things supernatural! I have 2 series out right now: THE BRETHREN and THE BOOK WAITRESS. Check them out right here on my AMAZON AUTHOR PAGEhttp://www.amazon.com/Deena-Remiel/e/B004Z0OLGA 

 WHAT WOULD A BLOG HOP BE WITHOUT PRIZES?!

**I have one for you! Comment below and you earn the chance to  win YOUR choice of eBook from my collection! **

**We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 200 times!**

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $50 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: A Swag Pack that contains 10+ paperbacks, ebooks, 50+ bookmarks, cover flats, magnets, pens, coffee cozies, and more!

85 Comments Add yours

  1. katsrus says:

    Loved playing in the leaves as a kid. So fun that was. Smores sound wonderful right now. Thanks for the giveaway.
    Sue B
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I don’t know which I enjoyed more- me jumping in the leaves as a child or watching my own do it… 🙂

  2. Kassandra says:

    I LOVE camp fires this time of year!
    Kassandra
    sionedkla@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Every day I come home from work, SOMEone has a fire going. It smells divine…

  3. Renee Waring says:

    Great Blog Deena. You made me want to go start a fire in the fireplace, grab Raphael and snuggle up for the day. 😉
    Renee
    renee.waring@yahoo.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      LOL What a wonderful idea, Renee! 😀

  4. hi Deena! you know i’m not from the US but Fall looks so beautiful. i missed that season because i left San Francisco already and headed back home. i remember asking my Aunt who lives in the East Coast to send me a leaf just so i could ‘experience’ the season and she did oblige. when i held that orange-red golden leaf in my hand, i was in awe! lol.
    thanks for sharing your memories. they’re beautiful! 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      You know, Ao, coming from the east coast, and now living in AZ, it’s hard to fathom how some folks have never experienced the four seasons for themselves. I wish everyone could experience it once in their lives… ❤

  5. lisa markson says:

    Thanks for giveaway

  6. Carin W says:

    I love Autumn because it cools down and I can always add a cute sweater where in the summer I can only take off so many clothes LOL! Thanks for a great post and being a part of the hop. You have some great memories of Autumn. Carin
    mawmom at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on autumn. I LOVE wearing sweatshirts, so autumn ushers in the sweatshirt season. LOL

  7. Denise Z says:

    Okay sitting here reading this awesome post and needing my cider and s’mores 🙂 (greedy hand out here – slurp thanks) Now that the heat of the summer has passed I can look out the window and see the changes coming over the yard from the very green of the grass peaking through after the final mowing for winter and the first rain with a little peaking of the sun, to the leaves that are starting to change color and fall. Definitely a good day to be inside with the blankey keeping the feet warm and a good book. Thank you for sharing the autumn fun today.
    dz59001 at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oh, man! I can feel the day just by your description! Hankering for a blankey of my own and a cup of hot chocolate! 😉

  8. Veronika says:

    Autumn is my favorite season! I like all the beautiful colors outside and the weather is not that hot anymore but not freezing cold either. It’s just perfect! Thank you for the giveaway!

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I think it’s perfect, too. 🙂

  9. Eva says:

    It’s my favorite season so I love hearing about your memories — love the changing leaves, anything pumpkin and halloween!!

    booksconsidered[at]gmail[dot]com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I love roasting pumpkin seeds for the family. 🙂

  10. I love fall. I love watching the leaves change colors and I loved playing in the leaves when I was younger. Thanks for the giveaway.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Such happy days, right? 😀

  11. Mary Preston says:

    It’s the traditions of childhood that stay in our memories forever. They are all important. Autumn is a wonderful time for family to gather.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  12. Dawna Newman says:

    Watching the leaves change is great, drinking hot cocoa, and I can’t forget Football (which I had when I began this hop LOL). finally pumpkin pie.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I love football! It gets me through laundry day! hahaha

  13. JoAnna B says:

    S’mores, love s’mores (mostly the chocolate!) I remember jumping in leaf piles. That was fun.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    beckerjo at verizon dot net

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Youngest made a S’mores stack a couple weeks back. Hubby took a pic. I swear it could be in a foodie magazine! hahaha It was a triple-decker of yumminess… 😉

  14. Fall? I love it because it gets cooler meaning more time by the fireplace snuggling and cuddling!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    3girlzmama at gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Mmm mmm! Gotta love a romantic fire and a hunny to snuggle with…

  15. Natasha says:

    I love everything about fall! It is my favorite.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Fall just makes me smile from head to toe!

  16. I love the Fall and the weather, the feeling in the air, the earth and the beautiful colors it brings. I just hate that it is so short. sdylion(at)gmail(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I agree! I wish it would be longer. 🙂

  17. Christine Jensen says:

    Yummy, smores! I love fall! Thanks for the great giveaway and participating in the hop. I love pretty much everything about Fall, smells, sights, sounds, warm and cozy clothing!

    kissyjensen at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I’m right there with ya, Christine! 😀

  18. April says:

    I adore autumn because of the amazing colors, bundling up in sweaters, Halloween and my birthday! Autumn also means cuddling up with a good book and a cup of cocoa!

    grapeapril75(at)gmail(dot)com

    I love the hops cause of all the awesome new books I find to add to my to read list!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I’ve got my cup of cocoa! Cheers! 😀

  19. Elie says:

    I love reading about things that go bump in the night (with a touch of romance) this time of year. thanks for the fun!

    zenfoxflowerATyahooDOTcom

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I do, too! Lucky for us, I have books for that… 😉

  20. Cassandra Hicks says:

    I’ll take a smore 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Here ya go! Right from the fire! 😉

  21. micheleann oboyle says:

    i love autumn cause of all the chages it brings ilove pumpkins and hot coco and hot cider and i use tolove jumping in the leaves as a kid as im sure most of us enjoying doing thanks for the chance to win angelwolfmystic@yahoo.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I remember going to an orchard and watching them make the cider and drinking it after. Mmmm mmm!

  22. Sassy Chassy says:

    Fall is my favorite season & I love everything about it! I love the colors, the crunch of leaves, hot apple cider, and bonfires.

    Sassychassy333@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I LOVE bonfires! Always makes me reflective and happy.

  23. JanD says:

    I like fall for the cooler weather, the leaves changing color, and pumpkin pie. Eating s’mores right now.
    bituin76 (at) hotmail (dot) com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Mmmm, I can smell their sugary sweetness from here! 😉

  24. Mer says:

    I love everything about fall. The leaves, the cool air, coming in to warm up with some hot chocolate and a good book…great timing for a hop, as I’m finding lots of additions to my to read list!
    dancingcelt at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Sounds like perfection to me! Hope I become one on your list… 😉

  25. laurie g says:

    Loved playing in the leaves as a kid. So fun that was. Smores sound wonderful right now. Thanks for the giveaway.

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I think anytime is a great time for S’mores. But the best time is ’round a camp fire. 😉

  26. suzlyne says:

    I walk my dogs year round but the fall is my favorite time because the colors are so beautiful. On the days that the wind is really blowing the leaves form drifts on the sidewalk that are like colorful snowdrifts. My dogs have somuch fun plowing through them. Thanks for the giveaway!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I can see your dog romping around right now, Suzlyne! Your description brought me right there. 🙂

  27. Rita Wray says:

    I love the cooler weather and I enjoy raking leaves.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Raking leaves is definitely a great workout! 😀

  28. Love the cooler weather.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      It’s such a welcome relief…

  29. Kaci Verdun says:

    I love the fall because of the football games and tailgating! And of course having a campfire with roasted hotdogs! Thanks for the chance to win a great giveaway!
    kacidesigns@yahoo.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      God bless football and tailgating! Woohoo!

  30. The autumn is the best time for long walks with the dogs. Or sitting. In the sunshine with a book.

    p.winmill@hotmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I love how the sunshine warms and he breeze cools all at the same time. :0

  31. Jo says:

    I’ll have some apple cider, please! There are many apple orchards near me, and not only can you get many kinds of apples this time of year, but also apple cider and apple cider donuts! Thank you for being in the hop!

    jochibi AT yahoo DOT com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I used to live by orchards, too. Boy do we miss going and picking apples …

  32. liese2 says:

    Thanks for the great post!
    I love the cooler weather and the changing colors of the leaves.
    Thanks for the chance!
    sqwalker2@gmail.com

  33. tanna4abak says:

    My favorite thing about Autumn/Fall is the changing color of the leaves, orange, yellow, red, even purple. They are so pretty. My least favorite thing is raking up those pretty leaves. LOL I love to curl up by the fire and read a hot romance book on a cold fall evening. Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Yeah, I don’t miss raking them darn leaves… lol

  34. miriam roman says:

    where i live i love to watch the mountains changing colors. thanks for joining the hop. Miriam.whitewolf@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Lucky! We have to travel a little to see that now. 🙂

  35. BookAttict says:

    I live in Florida now, so the most I can hope for in Autumn is cooler weather!

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      That’s what I hope for out here in AZ. And boy, it CAN get cold! Like tonight! lol

  36. Jaxs says:

    I also love the fall. Just the beautiful decor from Mother Nature just outside my window makes this such a beautiful season! Mind you, after raking leaves for 2 straight weeks, 6 hours/day, my hubby is second thinking his choice of favourite season! 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      LOL I sooo understand that! Especially when the neighbor’s leaves always wound up blowing on our lawn. LOL

  37. Jaxs says:

    Hey Deena, did I miss the hop altogether? I tried a few of the authors on your list and cannot find mention of blog hop on their site? Was this a one day hop-a-thon? Thanks!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      It’s over tomorrow… 🙂

  38. Beckey says:

    Thanks for sharing those pics, The kiddo look like they were having fun…

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Reminded me of my own once upon a time, so I had to use it. 🙂

  39. Delphina says:

    I do so love autumn. Oh and you Deena! I lov eyou also :). delphinareadstoomuch at yahoo

    1. deenaremiel says:

      LOL I LOVE YOU, TOO Delphina! Mwuaaah!

  40. Carla says:

    Thanks for joining in the hop. It was great to be introduced to your work.
    My favorite part about autumn is that the cool weather gives me the perfect excuse to keep my oven full of yummy deliciousness that I really can’t do during two of the three other seasons. I love the feeling of being able to have yummy stuff baking while I nestle in with a good read.
    planterofhope(at)aol(dot)com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I agree… nothing like smelling pumpkin bread or cookies baking in the oven… Ahhhhhh

  41. shar simms says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! I have great childhood memories of gathering up the leaves and jumping in them.

    paranormalbookreviews@gmail.com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      SO glad you do! Such special moments…

  42. lisarayns says:

    I love the colors in Autumn. Thanks for the giveaway!
    lisarayns at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      You’re welcome! Thanks for coming over. 🙂

  43. donnas1 says:

    Great hop! Thanks for sharing!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  44. deenaremiel says:

    ALYSON LABARGE, YOU’RE OUR WINNER!!!! 😀 I’ll be emailing you with the details… CONGRATULATIONS!

Leave a Reply

