Runnin’ Out of Words, A Writer’s Nightmare

Have you ever found yourself at a loss for words? I have, plenty of times. But what I’m talking about today is quite different. I’m talking about running out of words. Sometimes, when I’m writing, I get to a point where I feel like I’ve used up all the best words, and there’s nothing left in the vast library of our language from which I can choose. Usually this happens when my characters are kissing. There are only so many synonyms for  the word LIPS that still retains the meaning for your mouth and  that don’t sound ridiculous. Here, have a look:

lips{aperture, beak, box, cavity, chops, clam, crevice, delta, door, embouchement, entrance,estuary,
firth, fly trap, funnel, gate, gills, gob, harbor, inlet, jaws, kisser, lips , mush,orifice, portalrimtrap*, yap} (THESAURUS.COM)

You tell me which synonym works in a love scene.  “HE DEVOURED HER TRAP IN A HUNGRY DISPLAY OF CARNAL NEED.” 

Or… “HE DEVOURED HER YAP IN A HUNGRY DISPLAY OF CARNAL NEED.” 

Or, how about this one… “HE DEVOURED HER BEAK IN A HUNGRY DISPLAY OF CARNAL NEED.” 

You see what I mean? I’ve plum run out of words for lips after using mouth! And really, how many times can you use lips or mouth in a scene before your editor throttles you for repeats?!

*SIGHS*

Don’t even get me started on the word EYES. These lovers need to look, gaze, peer, glance, stare at each other at some point. What’s a writer to do when these are our only options…

eye

{baby blue, blinder, eyeball , headlight, lamp, ocular, oculus, optic, peeper, pie} (THESAURUS.COM)

I mean, really! I fought hard for ORBS, and it’s not even a choice in a thesaurus! 

I hate running out of words. There should be a group to join, REPEATERS ANONYMOUS,  for those of us who struggle with the repeated word in our novels.

I look around, or {admireattendbehold, beware, considercontemplateeye, feast one’s eyes, flash,focusgapegawkgaze,
get a load of, glance, glower, goggle, heedinspectmark,mindnotenoticeobserveogle, peep, peer, pore over, readregard,
rubberneck, scan,scoutscrutinizeseespotspystarestudysurvey, take a gander, take in the sights,tendviewwatch} (THESAURUS.COM) to see if anyone will join me in this venture. Anyone????

Have a great, super, stupendous, fabulous, wonderful, marvelous, amazing, bodacious, climactic, monumental, righteous, extraordinary, exceptional WEEKEND! Yeah, I could go on, but who wants to run out of words as as these?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Melody says:

    I always like to see a mouth referred to as a Cupid’s bow or pout… But in the context, that suggests that one would be devouring someone very delicate or impertinent in a carnal fashion.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFL, yes in the context above, which I made up specifically for this post, it doesn’t sound at all appealing to have the Cupid’s Bow be DEVOURED. HAHAHAHA

  2. Judy says:

    Over on Pinterest there is someone — I’m sorry I can remember who at the moment — who pins “posters” of a common word and everything you can use in its place. They have a whole collection of different common words. Might try there. However, yes, I’ve was just flogged with a wet noodle for some of my repeats. 😕

    1. deenaremiel says:

      What a great idea! I’ll have to go explore! 😀 Yeah, wet noodles aren’t fun… 😛

      1. Judy says:

        Write at Home dot com 🙂

Leave a Reply

