RITES OF SPRING BL0G H0P: FALLING FOR THE FIRST TIME

Welcome to the Rites of Spring Blog Hop!

March 20-23, 2013

Rites of Spring blog hop
CLICK ON BUTTON ABOVE TO RETURN TO PARTICIPANT LIST
Welcome to my place! I’m so happy to share with you “FIRSTS” of the latest couple in my Brethren Series. Third in the series, ELIXXIR, is the story of Nathanael, Brethren Warrior and Callie Worthington. Enjoy! At the end, there will be a question. Answer it, and you’re in the running to win a free eBook of the first Brethren book… TRINITY.
EllixxirFinalLarge
FIRST MEETING…

She opened up the door as far as the chain lock would allow. Verifying that friend, not foe, stood on the other side, she closed the door, unlocked it, and reopened it. She grabbed him by the collar with one hand, and with a confused look, he allowed her to push him back toward his motorcycle.
“Don’t say anything or do anything except strap down my backpack and take me to a hotel, now! It’s a matter of life and death, so hurry the fuck up!”
“What the…? No problem.”

FIRST AWARENESS OF EACH OTHER…

“You got words for me, Red?”
“I got plenty for you, Nate.” She poked his chest, trying to push him back a bit. “Wanna hear some? How about, you’re a jerk for walking into my dressing room without permission? How about, what the hell was that back there, asking my dress size and calling me sexy as hell? How about—”
Her next words were gobbled up by a hot, urgent mouth pressed against her own. Strong hands held her shoulders, guiding her closer to his body as he deepened his assault on her lips. At first, she didn’t know what to do. He’d shocked the hell out of her with his aggression. She couldn’t help noticing some of her protective walls had been torn asunder, and well-guarded ramparts were crumbling. Eyes that at first had flown open wide were now fluttering closed as her mind claimed temporary insanity.

FIRST ARGUMENT…

“Well? You obviously know something and you’re not telling me. We don’t go one step further in this quest until you tell me what’s happening here. Who are those freakish guys with the wacked-out eyes? And who are you, really?”
“Can we take this inside? I really don’t want to do this in public.”
“Fine. Let’s go.”
Shit. Why can’t anything be simple? Why did I have to be so God-damned observant and see those flaming red eyes?
She stomped past him and through the sliding-glass doors, waving off a too-friendly doorman. The elevator ride lasted an eternity. Callie chose to brood while he refused to speak or even look at her.

FIRST TIME…

“…I’m right here and I’m not going anywhere. We’ll fix things now.” She whimpered as his fingers slid through her hair and massaged her scalp. “Let me fix things. Let me fix you.”
His words were a soothing tonic, a hypnotizing mantra in her head that she didn’t want to stop. She sniffled and hiccupped. One minute blended into another as she held on to him, the only lifeline in a world spinning out of control.
“I don’t really hate you.” She spoke softly after minutes of silence. “I…couldn’t….” She hiccupped again. “Hate you. You’re too freakin’ nice.” She shook her head gently and looked up into his beautiful green eyes, seeking unspoken forgiveness for her abrasive words. She rubbed her lips together and moistened them with her tongue.
Nathanael cupped her cheek and caressed it with the pad of his thumb. He leaned in slowly until he was but a hair’s breadth away from her face, and then closed the distance to kiss her oh-so-gently. She lost herself in the warmth and pressure of his lips, and tears started anew as her heart skipped a beat from the simplicity of it all. As they parted, he looked bewildered. Her own shock met his. But she couldn’t help herself. She needed him desperately, man and angel. She needed to replace her scarred memories with something as beautiful and wondrous as an angel’s kiss. So she touched her hands to his face and guided him back to her lips.

QUESTION FOR YOU: 

WHAT WOULD YOU SAY TO A BRETHREN ANGEL THE FIRST TIME YOU MEET HIM? I WILL PICK A WINNER AT RANDOM TO RECEIVE A FREE  COLLECTOR’S EDITION OF NATHANAEL’S HUNT AND TRINITY, BOOK 1!

TO ENTER THE GRAND PRIZE DRAWING, CLICK HERE: RAFFLECOPTER

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica Subject says:

    Thanks for participating, Deena! 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks for running the shindig! This is great fun!

  2. parisfanca says:

    Thanks for running the shindig! This is great fun!

  3. JeanMP says:

    Enjoyed reading the excerpt. Thanks for being part of this great blog hop.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  4. Shelly Hammond says:

    All the firsts in the above were excellent! I really want to read this now!! I think if I met a Brethren Angel the first thing that would happen is someone would have to catch me as I was falling onto the floor because that’s a good assumption as to where I’d be headed! After that I think I would probably be able to muster up a “Hi” and perhaps a “Um, I think you have the wrong house!” mainly because I’m boring and live in the middle of nowhere!! It would be pretty cool though after the whole being picked up off the floor…
    My very favorite thing about spring is opening up the windows again. I am starting to miss the fresh air!
    Thank you for the chance to enter the giveaway and happy spring everyone!
    Shelly H.
    Booski24@hotmail.com

  5. Cathy Brockman says:

    I loved the excerpts. I think id be speechless meeting a brethren Angel the first time of maybe who the heck are you handsome! sugar_n_spice63830@yahoo.com

  6. Mary Preston says:

    I do love welcoming the sun back after the cold of Winter.

  7. I love watching flowers bloom.

  8. Mary Roya says:

    So what would I do if I met one of the .BRETHREN ANGEL? Tough question. Well, I’m an old lady and I would love for a hunk pick me up and swing me around. I could wrap my arms around his neck, feel his tight firm body next to my flabby soft body. Woo Hoo! Oh yes, that’s what I would ask for. Come on big boy, show me how strong you are, pick me up! Tee hee

    Loved the tease. Keep writing so I can keep reading.
    roya-clan@sbcglobal.net

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Now Mary, you got me all hot and bothered! You bet I’ll keep writing for ya!

  9. SheriV says:

    I’d stammer Hi, and then run away.

    smurfettev AT gmail DOT com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Oh, my goodness! And he’d fly off after ya, for sure! 😉

  10. tanna4abak says:

    Well after I picked myself up off the floor, I’d say “Hello. Are you sure you have the right place/person?”
    My favorite thing about spring is the warmer weather and the flowers blooming.
    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    (\__ /)
    (=’.’=)
    (“)_(“)

    1. deenaremiel says:

      ROFLMAO! And then he’d nod with a wicked grin… 😉

  11. I would probably say…OMG! You are huge and very sexy 😉 Glad you are the Angel that came to save me 🙂

  12. Diane Sallans says:

    I don’t know much about these kind of angels – I’d probably be stunned to silence.

    1. Diane Sallans says:

      My favorite thing about spring is the warmer weather – it’s been a very long winter that started early!

    2. deenaremiel says:

      I probably would be, too! LOL

  13. bn100 says:

    What’s your name?
    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  14. Catherine says:

    I love the first meeting. That’s unexpected! I’d probably say, on a first meeting, “Where have you been all my life?”
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Hahaha! Love it! 😀

  15. KYLA WHITLEY says:

    i might say, “you are truly lovely.” 🙂
    thank you for sharing in the hop. 🙂
    jukyjoauka at aol dot com

  16. deenaremiel says:

    SHERI V, YOU’RE OUR BLOG HOP WINNER!!!!!! CONGRATS!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

