Twenty Years…are you KIDDING ME?!

stick figuresWasn’t it just yesterday I went on a blind date with friends and met my future husband? It had to have been! I don’t feel a day over 21! All right, now that I got THAT bullshit out of the way…

 

Yes, it’s been 20 years since my husband and I tied the knot. We’ve actually been together 24 years. I cannot begin to tell you how much has happened in our lives, but let me say this… when the vows say for better or worse, for richer for poorer,  in sickness and in health, WE’VE BEEN THROUGH IT ALL. And we’ve come through it all… together. Says a lot. Not about marriage. About our commitment to each other as people. Our commitment to the family we created. Creating a marriage takes but a few moments before a religious leader, God, and family and friends. Creating a life together takes a daily choice on both our parts to work together on this world we chose to form. It takes fortitude, determination, perseverance, and yes… love. 

ring heart

 

How have we been able to make it happen?As we’ve grown as individuals, we’ve had to adjust and flex. Rules once set out had to be tweaked. The fascinating part about our lives is how be both have been learning and growing, dreaming and scheming to reach those dreams, AT THE SAME TIME. They may be a little different from each other, but to know that each of us has dreams and goals for ourselves draws us together. It’s exciting to be able to support each other and celebrate achievements. Do you realize what a powerful model we’re showing our kids?!

different

Funny thing is, we couldn’t be more different from each other. But over the years, I’ve noticed those differences compliment each other. We complete each other, as they say. So I’m happy to pronounce our 20th anniversary. I’m looking forward to another 20 and all the things we can imagine and create together…

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shelly Anisman says:

    You are my legacy and the world is better for it. I’m very proud of you, Dave, Eldest, and Youngest. You make my life complete.

    I love you,

    Mom

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Love you, too, Mom. Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

