My favorite day… Mother’s Day

womenIt’s not for the commercial cards or the presents, although they’re awesome. It’s not for the roses restaurants like to give out to their female customers. It’s not for any other reason than the fact that I was blessed with the ability to conceive, carry, and bring forth two wonderful children that I LOVE MOTHER’S DAY. And so, every Mother’s Day, I am filled with emotion as I reflect on my girls- how they came to be and the stages they are at now. Yes, I do it on their birthdays, as well. But this day is a day for me to focus on all aspects of motherhood-  the pride, the joy, the frustrations, the love.

I know all too well, though, how painful a time Mother’s Day will be for many women, who for a myriad of reasons cannot conceive or adopt children of their own. But I submit this to you for your consideration. As hard as this reason may be to hear, I am convinced that they are mothers to so many MORE. Their love, care, and attention to the needs of others must be placed somewhere or they’ll explode. I submit that the people around these fabulous women are graced by these bountiful gifts. Rather than being showered over biological or adopted children, these women share themselves with the world. 

How did I come up with this supposition? I have family and friends who are in this very position, and I can say wholeheartedly that they are mothers of the world. Their loving kindness and influence are spread far and wide and across many years. So, on Mother’s Day, rather than feel uncomfortable  around women who cannot have children, I choose to celebrate them and thank them for being a role model, a surrogate  for many who don’t have a woman in their lives that they can call mother. 

Having a child, to me, doesn’t qualify a woman as a MOTHER necessarily. In my eyes, it’s certain qualities that define a mother’s nature : 

love
empathy
patience
humor
creativity
strength
openness
being supportive 

You see, these qualities can be shown no matter how many kids’ rooms you may have in your home. So, to the women in my life and in yours, who can’t have children, I’d like us to say, “Happy Mother’s Day, for being like a mom to so many people.”

Happy Mother’s Day!

Deena

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jaxs says:

    Deena,

    Happy Mom’s Day to you! What a wonderful post! If you know anybody who cannot have a baby and is wanting to adopt, my 27 year old attendant is pregnant and looking to place this baby up for adoption since she is already the single mom to a 2 year old. She is due in August and will be going home to the States in June to look for a family willing to have an open adoption. This has been a terrible decision for her but ultimately a wise one. The baby will be 1/2 Dominican, so he will be have a light chocolate complexion. She is healthy and being very careful to eat well so that the baby is healthy. I would adopt him/her myself, except that my health is not good enough and it would not be fair to the child. If you know somebody, let me know and I can put them in touch. Please only refer someone that you know personally. Thanks so much. I wish that this had happened when I was looking to adopt but perhaps this can be a gift for somebody else! 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Jaxs. 🙂 A very Happy Mother’s Day to you! I wish the very best to your attendant and her baby. I can only imagine what a painful process this is for her. Adoption is no longer an option, though, for the couple I know. I will keep her and the baby in my prayers. xoxo

  2. Shelly Anisman says:

    I am faklempt from your message, Deena and I share the same feelings with you. You have a gift of putting thoughts and feelings on paper (or e-mail) whereas I have to hope and pray that you and all my loved ones know how very much I love you/them and how proud I am to be a part of your/their lives and you/they a part of mine.

    Early Happy Mom’s Day to you and we’ll have a belated celebration when I get to AZ.

    All my love, Mom/Bubbie

    P.S. E, wish you could join us in the celebration but we will toast you, as well.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Looking forward to next weekend, Mom! Thanks so much. I’m glad my words can touch your heart. LOVE YOU, too! 😀 *Raises glass* Cheers to you!

  3. Auntie A says:

    Deena, your words brought me warmth and tears. I no longer cry over not having children as you pointed out to me years ago that I had been mother to hundreds of kids as a teacher.
    You are an artist with words, putting the meaning of Mother’s Day so magnificently.
    Hugs and much Love,
    Auntie A

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks so much, Auntie A. I’m so glad my words resonated and stayed with you… Hugs and Love!

  4. Beautiful post Deena thank you. Happy Mother’s Day.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thanks, Ruth! The same to you… 🙂

Leave a Reply

