Today’s Discussion with my students: A Writer’s Habit of Mind

desk

Today is Friday, the end of the week. At school, students cheer for it, as do the teachers. But for one class, my Creative Writing class, it is another day to create.  Today’s mini-lesson was about a writer’s habit of mind. How we set the stage for the day’s writing experience will determine our success. I’d like to share my thoughts with you about it.

There are things we can do to create a rich environment for writing. They are as varied as the pool of authors out there.

First, we can discuss location. The optimal place to write is subjective. You may try an office with a huge desk, a living room with a couch, your bedroom on a bed, a folding chair and snack table. You will know when a space suits you, and sometimes that space stops working and you must make a change, so go with it.

We can think about time of day. Does morning suit you better than afternoon or evening? This can change as well over time. I used to write my best in the deep, dark of night, but now, I love the mornings and afternoons, and actually, anytime I can get! So honor your changing needs.

Some writers enjoy total silence to help them create their manuscripts, while others need sound. Here are a few suggestions for filling your ears with sound:

Listen to white, pink, or brown noise at http://www.simplynoise.com

Listen to rain or a rain storm at http://rain.simplynoise.com

Listen to music using http://www.iheart.com

I recommend the Neo-classical station for instrumental music of all kinds.

If you enjoy lyrics, pick your favorite type of music.

Are there comfort items that fuel your creativity? What kind of snacks and drinks would you like near at hand? Do you enjoy having inspiration pictures around you? I tend to enjoy chocolate/peanut snacks and water or tea.

Finally, if you want to get some serious words laid down, you are going to have to disconnect from facebook, twitter, and your email. It is the hardest habit to break, but it eats up so much time. This allows you to set a goal for yourself. It can be a word count, a chapter count, a page count. Whatever works for you will create successful writing experiences.

All of these considerations lead to a habit of mind for success. Sitting in your favorite spot, listening or not, to comforting sounds, eating favorite snacks, and setting a goal are habits that can ensure you have the best experience possible when you write.

Happy writing!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Miranda says:

    Great post Deena. I need to find that space again. Also going to share this with my writing group!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Glad I could help! Teaching kids has brought me back to the beginning and reminds me of just how far I’ve come. To be able to help writers on their journey is a pleasure for me. 😀

Leave a Reply

