Paranormal Fragment Friday BLOG HOP: GHOST of a CHANCE, a 1NS Story

???????????????

 

Today’s fragment is from my swoonalicious short story, GHOST OF A CHANCE, a 1NS story from Decadent Publishing. Since the 200th 1NS story is about to release, I thought I’d give you a taste of mine. Enjoy!

GHOST OF A CHANCE- RELEASE DAY PARTY (with the Bookish Snob!!)

“Before you take another step, you should know I’m different.”

“I read in the New York Times that you became reclusive about ten years ago. You’ve taken great strides toward ending that by being here now.”

“There’s a reason why I keep to myself. It may startle you, so be prepared. I am very much on the magical side of this world at the moment.”

Before she could move, he did, which brought him out of the shadows and into the light. Susannah gasped, startled at the transparency of the man who stood before her. Nervous laughter bubbled in her throat.

“What is this, some kind of joke? A holographic image projected here while you hide safe and secure in your room?”

“I’m afraid not. I’ve been living an alternative lifestyle lately.” He opened his arms as if to show himself off and let them fall back to his sides. “And this is all I am. I’m a ghost of a man, Susannah.”

“Holy shit!” She stumbled back and fell onto the fountain’s ledge. He raced to her side to help, but his hands went right through her. Susannah screamed and scrambled to the opening leading to the main thoroughfare of the resort.

“Susannah! Wait! Please, let me explain! I haven’t always been this way….”

As she reached the threshold, she slowed to a stop. The anguish and desperation in his voice spoke to her heart and changed her fear to cautious compassion. He hasn’t always been this way? What on earth happened? As freaked out as she had been, the man deserved more from her than seeing her run away like a Screaming Mimi. 

FOR MORE, CLICK HERE FOR PURCHASE: GHOST OF A CHANCE

Leave a Reply

