MY WRITING PROCESS BLOG TOUR

I’d like to thank TM Williams for tagging me in this fun blog tour. I love talking process. I am a teacher, after all. So talking about my affair with the writing process  is what I call a great time. So let me begin… 

1) What am I working on?

Maybe I should ask what AREN’T I working on!

I am currently in the processing of releasing two novellas in a series called, Love Among the Ruins. The first novella, Immortal Dance, just released this past week, and the next one, Burning Sage, will release soon. They both are set in mysterious or mythological places and ar very romantic! I’ve  been working on a novel I’m getting the rights back to soon. I’ve freshened it up, added bonus material and had fun creating a new cover with my awesome cover artist. I returned to my romantic suspense WIP that I am submitting to a publisher. Once I push send and I’m waiting for paperwork and such, I’ll go directly into writing the next Book Waitress book, Rock-a-Bye Demon. I’m hoping to start my fourth Brethren novel, Angel Rising, later this summer. 

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre? 

When I started out writing the Brethren Series, I decided to make them less like fallen angels and more like superheroes with issues. There is no question who’s on the side of Good in my novels, even if Satan makes it extremely difficult along the way!  When I created the Book Waitress Series, I asked a curious and scary  “what if” and answered it with a unique and terrifying situation involving a socially awkward librarian. I asked, “What if during a near death experience, instead of seeing a bright light, a family member who’d passed, or angels, we saw Satan coming for us?” My librarian, my Book Waitress, answers that question.  I team her up with a quirky crew to fight against Satan’s return for her and for the sake of the world. What makes the Book Waitress Series different, as well, is that I release a new novella in the series every four months. Every three novellas is combined into a seamless full-length novel.

3) Why do I write what I do? 

I have a fascination with Good versus Evil and the idea of immortality. I think it comes from all the horror movies I watched as a kid AND listening to the news, hearing about all the sick, twisted things people do to each other. I figure there MUST be something evil within these people to behave so depraved.  All of my books dip into the dark realm of a human’s (or immortal’s) capacity for evil. 

 

4) How does your writing process work? 

I usually come up with a seed of an idea, let it percolate in my brain for a bit, and then it’s marathon time! I tend to come up with a loose sketch, a few sentences about the story on the whole, then I go deeper. I create character bios, and spend a lot of time molding them so that they are as real as can be. Then I focus on the setting. I research these places so that I can bring it to life for my readers. Finally, I write a short synopsis, a paragraph or two to keep me on track, however, I don’t feel married to it. It’s only NOW that I can begin to write my story. I’m a linear writer, so when I begin, I write sequentially, as opposed to other authors who can write scenes here and there and patch them together. I usually revise what I’ve written the day before and move on. When I’m finished with the first draft, I go right back and start from the beginning to revise and edit before sending my work off to be edited. Finally, while waiting, I do what any author would do… write some more!

 

I hope you enjoyed seeing into my writing process. Take a look around the site at the fruits of my labor. I wish you all well on your own writing  journeys!

Leave a Reply

