Drawing a Blank on facebook

fbMy friends are pretty damn witty. They post the most hilarious one-liners, cartoons, quips, quotes on facebook. I spend the first few moments upon waking each morning reading and laughing along. Then it’s my turn, and I click my cursor on my status update and… nothing. I got NOTHING. How can this be? I’m a writer. It’s what I do. I have a clever wit, too, like my friends. Each morning, though, I’m faced with updating the world as to how it’s going in my life, or saying something that will elicit  friendly interaction, and I go blank.

So, I find others’ postings that I like and share on my wall. Quotes, cartoons, videos. But I’d really like to share the oddball, crazy, funny things that happen to me over the course of the day. Thing is, those types of things have to actually happen. My life is not filled with hilarity on a daily basis, although it is a happy life I live. I’d love to share the hilarious conversations I have on occasion with my daughters, but they never happen as neat and tidy as other people who post the funny things their children say. Dare I actually edit the conversation for the purposes of facebook to make it sound better, more fluid? I usually opt for saying no. I‘ve chosen not to post pictures of my kids to protect their anonymity, so there goes a bunch of opportunities to post something interesting, that is, unless I take to photographing the backs of their heads all the time. If I share my opinion on a hot topic, I could get roasted at the stake. I’m not a fan of making enemies. I’m a peacemaker by nature. 

There’s a reason I’m a fiction writer. I wake up, go to work, come home. We don’t have extra money floating around to go and experience the world around us like we’d like, so it limits my worldly exploits to share and remark upon. So, how do my friends do this day after day, multiple times a day? How do they come up with facebook status updates that grab my attention and make me interact? 

I’m not asking to become one of  “those” people, who post when they’ve taken a shower, or clipped their toenails. I don’t think people want to know when I’m going food shopping and what I bought, or that I sneezed five times in a row. I want to find that sweet spot of facebook posts that comes from my own brain and brings people together to talk and laugh. If anyone finds that sweet spot for me, would you kindly post it on my facebook wall?

😉

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    In the words of the Bard: There’s the rub.

    No one can find it for you. It’s your brand. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      LOL Exactly! I must find my own way ’round facebook, like it or not.

Leave a Reply

