I Love Writing, But I’d REALLY Love Beautiful Nails

20141020_172720I’m having a nail crisis! It actually started years ago, when I realized I couldn’t grow nails like the other women in my family or my girlfriends. I have baby nails. Really! They’re tiny. And my hands are small, too. So, I knew I would never be a concert pianist, but to realize I couldn’t grow nails that would look lovely with luscious pinks, corals, and all kinds of decorative paintings, has left me devastated. Don’t even get me started on all the Jamberry stickers I could be buying and wearing like nobody’s business!

Now, I know how it is. I could very easily put fake nails on and call it a day. But, that costs money, bi-weekly, to maintain. It’s money I don’t have to spend on such luxuries. Plus, there is one confounding factor to all of this. Let’s say I had the money to go fake and awesome. How the heck would I write? 

I’ve been sprinting lately, which really ups my word count, thankfully. If I had claws, I’d be sprinting and writing gibberish and probably half the amount of words. So, it would seem it’s either my stories or my nails. I can’t have both. I choose my stories. They don’t fade, they don’t break, they don’t cost me money beyond the start-up. jamberry-nails-4

So, my dear friends with GORGEOUS nails, don’t mind the drool as I fawn all over yours. One day, when I have the money and the time to learn how to type with nails, I’ll get my own set. Until then, paint well, my friends! 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Johnson says:

    Deena, I’m glad you’ve come to grips with your nails’ issue. Yep, being able to do your job must come first. Best wishes on your continued success. Hugs, Nancy J Surprise, AZ

    1. deenaremiel says:

      LOL Thank you, Nancy! Hugs, hugs, and more hugs. 🙂

  2. Sorry I’m late coming to this party. LOL. That nails vs. writing thing is a big dilemma for me. Because, since I’ve started taking natural vitamins, my nails grow really fast. And it KILLS me to have to cut them so I can write without making multiple errors. I did just get some Jamberry Nails, and they didn’t do as well on my shorter nails as I would have liked. They kept coming up on the ends. 😦 (Those things are expensive to just have to take back off!) I keep trying to find a happy medium. At what length can I keep them so I can love my nails and still write?

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Good question! Hope you find the right answer. As for vitamins, I’d love to know what you’re taking. Maybe there’s hope for my baby nails!

      1. I’m getting my vitamins at the health food store. They are whole food vitamins, which means they are as natural as they can get. I think the whole foods thing is what makes them so good. (That’s whole food as in natural, not as in the Whole Foods store, LOL.)

        1. deenaremiel says:

          Good to know! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

