Time to let the demons in…

For the better part of a month, I’ve been dealing with something more dreadful, more sinister, and more frightening than writer’s block. I’ve been dealing with characters and a story that won’t let me go and work on anything else. Please, don’t find this cute or funny. It’s actually quite horrifying.

I currently write two novel-length series and one short story series. Everyone is supposed to have their turn at bat. When one story is done in one series, I turn to the other. Everything had been going just fine- until ANGEL RISING came into my life. I’d always known it was going to be huge. I planned to write it in two parts. Two parts became two books. I thought I could do as I always had done- write part one, then switch to the Book Waitress Series which has two books that need writing and publishing by May. Back and forth, back and forth, jockeying between the two was the order of the day.

When part one of Angel Rising, for The Brethren Series, was put to bed and published, I naturally sat down at the computer to start Rock-A-Bye Demon for The Book Waitress. That’s when terror struck. My mind didn’t WANT to. IT wanted to daydream and muse and write more stories with Hannah and Gabriel. IT wanted to start the spin-off series with them in it. IT wanted to write Asher and Blessing’s stories. BUT THAT’S NOT WHAT I HAD PLANNED. 

Now, if I were in a perfect world, I’d figure myself lucky for having many stories to tell in my Brethren world. In a perfect world, I’d take that road and travel it. But it’s not a perfect world. I have readers that have been so patient with me as I flit back and forth between series. THEY DESERVE THE NEXT BOOK WAITRESS BOOK. So, I have a huge problem on my hands. I’ve taken action, though.

I’ve taken time away from fiction writing altogether. I’ve watched dozens and dozens of movies- some good and most bad. I’ve taken to writing on my blog more often. But the fact remains, I must write two stories. I want these stories to be told. They deserve to be told. I love the Book Waitress series as much as the Brethren. I’ve taken drastic measures. I’m watching horror movies and the new TV show, Constantine. Anything to get away from the angels and to the dark place I need to be to write this series.  IT’S TIME TO LET THE DEMONS IN.

I wrote three sentences last night. They’re damn good sentences, too. It’s a start.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So…are you really watching the movies for research, or are you procrastinating? I know this is a huge dilemma. My gut feeling would be to tell you to write what your brain, heart, and mind want you to write at the moment. But only you know your deadlines and obligations. Good luck!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Watching movies was me trying to create a separation between my angels and my demons, as well as to set the stage for dark writing. Plus, I was spent, exhausted, and needed a break. Thanks so much for your advice and warm wishes. ❤

Leave a Reply

