Gone, but not Forgotten

996184_593090567401760_1897477805_nToday marks 10 years since my father passed. Some of you will read that first sentence and take a pass on this post. Some of you will linger. Either response is okay. I do this post for me. If it touches your soul and helps in some small way to ease the ache in your heart, I am glad.

My father wasn’t a perfect person. Hell, who is? But as a father, to me, he was a great man. I learned a lot from him: compassion, humor, generosity, faith. Those tenets have stayed with me all my life, and I hope I’ve taught them well enough to my children.

Over the years, I’ve written poems about him, posted pictures of him, and I even dedicated RELIC to him while fashioning Serena’s father a bit after him. I will continue to keep his spirit alive through my writing and every day that my thoughts wander to thoughts of him.

 

He always loved listening to Cantorial music. He actually had records…

 

He loved Mel Brooks. Blazing Saddles was a favorite movie of his…

He loved Big Band music and dancing…

He loved watching all kinds of sports…

He loved his family…

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. A lovely tribute. Hugs. He good taste in movies and music.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you, Alan. LOL He LOVED British humor. I could easily have put Benny Hill in there. 🙂

  2. I lost my dad two years ago this Thanksgiving, so I understand. We often think of those loved ones who’ve left us.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Wishing you a day of fond memories and stories to share about your father. 🙂

  3. Judy says:

    What a lovely remembrance. Thank you for sharing him. (((Deena)))

Leave a Reply

