NEW YEAR, new lease on life…

image[50]How many times have we made resolutions that only days later we don’t keep? PLENTY! Well, I knew, for me to make any kind of change in my lifestyle, it would take a doctor saying, “You gotta change because you’re hurting yourself.” Well, that’s what’s happened over the course of last few months.

On a journey to eat healthier due to no more gall bladder, I embarked on a healthy kick, which everyone in the family embraced. Little did I know, the very foods I was eating were attacking me! I had a major food allergy test done, and the results came back. I’m still reeling from the implications, but safe to say, eating safer, rather than healthier, is one resolution of mine that has no wiggle room. If I want to STAY ill, I should keep on eating healthy foods like hummus and guacamole. That’s right, these healthy snacks make me sick. I can’t even begin to list all the foods I’m severely or mildly intolerant to. The list is expansive and surprising. Now, add to that heady mix the fact that I’m severely intolerant to gluten and cow’s milk. What do I adore? Breads and cheeses. What do I enjoy even more? Putting those two together. 

I can tell this change-over is going to be a challenge. Not in the obvious ways, but in the quiet ways. For example, I can live with changing milk to almond milk, but Smart Balance spread has milk in it, and I use it heavily for cooking. I refuse to switch to unhealthy margarines, so what’s to be done? Another example is that I cook all the time with olive oil, and I love soybean products like edamame and tofu. Can’t use or eat any of those. 

So, I look forward with equal parts anticipation and dread for my phone call to speak with a nutritionist on Tuesday. I’m hoping to hear more positive information and get practical advice for substitutions and which products are best. My resolution this year? Change my life for the better through smart, safe, healthy-for-me eating.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. suzlyne says:

    It’s going to be a lot of work but when you start feeling better it will be worth it. There are many blogs with information and recipes for people with various allergies. I follow several gluten free bloggers who also have family members with an assortment of allergies and that has helped so much. Keep your chin up. It’ll get better.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      I’ve begun to do the same. Going shopping today. I’m in good spirits. ❤

  2. I have a friend who has dairy allergies and her husband has gluten allergies. She’s learned to adapt her cooking. It can be done, but I don’t envy anyone who has to give up foods they love. For a cheese substitute, my friend uses Daiya. She really likes it, and there’s a variety of flavors. I’m not sure if it contains other things you’re allergic to, though.

    I wish you the best of luck in your new adventure. It won’t be easy, but I know you can do it. And you’ll feel so much better!

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thx so much. I’ll investigate that cheese alternative! ❤

  3. Judy says:

    Sorry to have you join the club. However, I’m glad to hear you’re going to be able to eat healthier for you. Stopping some foods made a difference for me. Like eggs; stopped eating eggs and stopped feeling like I was walking on glass. Cutting wheat from my diet left me feeling hungry all the time. However, cutting bran from my diet greatly improved my digestive tract problems. I don’t do well if I eat a lot of bread in my diet (I used to sometimes have two servings per meal), but I do better if I include one serving every day, occasionally two. I’m lactose intolerance, and didn’t do well cutting milk completely from my diet. I switched to coconut oil and added coconut milk to my diet. I still drink whole cow’s milk, but I half it with coconut milk. One of my niece notices a difference in the flavor. I don’t, at least not enough to bother me. I also happen to like coconut. Soy is not an option. I’m also allergic to almonds. I tried switching to almond milk, because the allergy wasn’t one that was high, but it wasn’t long before I thought I was drinking fiberglass. This past year, I had no eggs or almonds alone. I miss fried eggs over easy. I’d try duck eggs if I could find them. My brother, also allergic to milk, likes goat cheese. At first, it doesn’t feel like there are many options, but you’ll find them. In fact, you’ll discover a whole new world of foods. Enjoy. 🙂

    1. deenaremiel says:

      THX for sharing your story, Judy. It’s nice to know there’s such a supportive community out there to reach out to to share in the grief and joys of excluding some foods and finding new ones for our healthier diets.

Leave a Reply

