A Wounded Soul Heals, Doesn’t It?

20151204_160521

It’s been rough for people around the world and around our nation. Lives lost. Family members, friends, coworkers, teachers, coaches, neighbors, classmates, all feeling the pain of loss. Unexpected loss. Senseless loss. Loss brought upon them by angry, disillusioned, brainwashed, and/or mentally unstable people who believe killing others  is the answer. Because others are to blame for their situation, of course. Because the mere fact that others live threatens their own existence, of course. My heart aches and shrivels a little more with every assault against humanity.

So, what do these horrific events have to do with that picture up above? That picture of blue gum smeared on my windshield? Well, I’m not suggesting that it has anything at all to do with them, except to say that violence against others begins somewhere, doesn’t it? At some point every one of those people who committed atrocities against innocents made a choice, a decision, that violence solves problems and makes a strong statement. With regards to my unfortunate incident, someone was angry enough, hateful enough, to take gum that had been chewed in their mouth and smear it on my car.

I’ve been told not to take it personally. How can I NOT? Did this hateful person feel moved to do the same to another vehicle? No. Just mine. This hateful person, rather than finding a more appropriate outlet for their disdain of me, chose to show me such disrespect in this disgusting manner. No, my tires weren’t slashed. My windows weren’t broken. My paint wasn’t scratched. As if smeared on my own face, gum was slathered on my windshield.

And so it begins. Gum on a car one day, and soon that won’t be enough. Since we’ll never know who did it because the security cameras aren’t set to secure our vehicles, but secure our buildings, that person has a piece of power over me that I’ll never be able to retrieve. They won. Don’t tell me it’s up to me whether or not they have power over me. It’s not. Because I’m wondering what they will try next. If they’ve been emboldened to try something even riskier. Don’t tell me I’m being melodramatic. I think that all the aforementioned events have taught us that NOTHING should be discounted. That when we don’t take note of incidents and make mention to anyone who will hear, horrible things happen eventually.

In closing, I’d like to thank my SRO and one of my administrators who reviewed the video so quickly. I’d like to extend my deepest gratitude to  my Assistant Principal of Discipline and Dean of Instruction. Those two guys took such good care of me by scraping off the gum and cleaning the window while soothing my angered heart. I felt like they were my brothers, come to the rescue of little sis. Never mind that I’m probably older than them!

I’ve spent my entire life being idealistic and optimistic. This has rattle me something fierce, and I can feel the cynicism creeping in. My soul is wounded, and I’m not sure when it will recover.

 

 

***Please do not leave comments about how dare I compare the recent horrid events to mine. I’m not doing that here at all, nor would I ever. I have 25 years of working with kids and see the formation of personalities and behaviors that set in for good or bad. That gives me the right to write commentary on human behavior.

***If you choose to comment, please do so with the utmost of respect or it will be deleted. Thank you.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary Preston says:

    We cannot and should not discount the small incidents that affect us deeply. In the grand scale of things they may seem trivial, but they do pinpoint a lack of humanity in the offender. ..and that is the big picture right there.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Thank you, Mary. I agree with you. Ours schools are microcosms of our society. We should be keen observers and be proactive rather than reactive.

  2. JudySmall says:

    I think that you are very right in how you feel and what you said. We need to start making people and especially kids responsible for the things that they do. To many times a kid will do something bad and the parents or adults will either say that their kid wouldn’t do something like that or the adults will say they are only a kid and no one was hurt so everything is fine. We can’t do that anymore. Love ya, Deena.

    1. deenaremiel says:

      Love you, too, Judy. I agree with you. So many enablers…

  3. Judy says:

    I’m so sorry this happened to you. There’s a reason they say it’s a straw that breaks the camel’s back. All the big things pile up, and then it’s that little thing that shreds us, not because we are weak but because there is already so much. ((Deena))

  4. Shelly Anisman says:

    I just saw this horrific incident and I am mortified! However, I refuse to hold on to my anger, disgust, and deep disappointment in humankind because I would be playing right into the hands of the perpetrators. The ones who have had abuse thrust upon us should not be pitied but rather the individuals who have a need to inflict their anger and hatred of themselves and mankind. They have been taught to hate and pass it along to those who cross their path. They will never know the true joy of love, life, and peace. Don’t let them win! MOM

Leave a Reply

